How to Complete The Getting Started Workshop
The Getting Started Workshop consists of several online tutorials and documents you should review. In order to successfully complete the workshops you need to view the tutorials indicated as REQUIRED !!! in:
- Step One
- Step Two
- Step Three
Some HACC professors give extra credit to students who complete workshop quizzes. After reviewing these tutorials, click on the link at the bottom of this page to complete a quiz about what you have learned. The quiz will be graded automatically. Print out the results of the quiz and turn them into your professor.
Step One - Select a Topic
REQUIRED!!!
Choose ONE of the tutorials below to complete Step One of the workshop.
- Research Secrets Revealed: Selecting a TopicA thorough tutorial on finding a topic, produced by the Western Nevada College Library.
- Tutorial 1: Choosing a TopicA quick tutorial produced by East Carolina University's Joyner Library.
Step Two - Research Overview
REQUIRED !!!
Review BOTH of the videos shown below to complete Step Two of the workshop.
- Brandeis University "Know Your Library" VideoThis video provides an overview of the research process and it's role in the college experience. Please ignore the links to Brandeis resources at the end of the video. For information about HACC Libraries, see the Hours, Get Help and Library Links boxes on this page.
- Search Engines vs. Research Databases VideoModesto Community College Library educator, Kathleen Ennis, explains why using library databases is a superior research method.
Step Three - Combining Terms
REQUIRED !!! Review AT LEAST ONE of these tutorials to complete Step Three of the workshop.
These tutorials explain how to combine terms to get just the right results in your database searches.
- Doing ResearchAn introduction to the concepts of online searching
- Boolean Operators YouTube VideoA 3 minute video follows a college student trying to search EbscoHOST.
- Boolean Operators TutorialAn interactive tutorial from Colorado State University on how to use AND, OR, and NOT when searching for information.
- Advanced Boolean SearchingAdvanced Boolean Searching combines operators (And, Or, Not) to improve search results.
Getting Started Workshop Quiz
Some HACC professors give extra credit to students who complete workshop quizzes.
After reviewing these tutorials, click on the link below to complete a quiz about what you have learned.
The quiz will be graded automatically.
Print out the results of the quiz and turn them in to your professor.
Your Feedback
HACC Library Background Databases
Use these databases to find background material on a topic:
- CQ Researcher Plus ArchiveAnalytical reports on controversial issues from 1923 to the present. Includes background, chronology, tables and maps, and pro/con statements.
- Issues & Controversies @ Facts.comAnalytical reports on current issues. Includes encyclopedia and almanac articles, images, statistical tables, and pro/con statements for each issue.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)Topic overviews, contrasting viewpoints, articles, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and recommended websites.
- Credo ReferenceArticles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.
McCormick Library Hours
| Regular Hours: Fall Term | ||
| Mon - Thurs | 7:30AM - 9:00PM | |
| Friday | 7:30AM - 4:30PM | |
| Saturday | 10:00AM - 4:00PM | |
| Sunday | 1:00PM - 6:00PM | |
| Term Breaks | ||
| Mon – Fri | 7:30AM - 4:30PM | |
| Sat – Sun | CLOSED | |
Library Links
- Library HomepageThis is your connection for information about the HACC Libraries: links to online resources; information on local campus libraries; help citing sources; electronic reserves.
- Databases A - ZSelect a database from this list to search for reference material, journal articles, newspapers. Use your HACCWeb ID and your HACCWeb PIN to login.

Loading...
