Articles & eBooks - COMM 101 - Effective Speaking - Davis - LibGuides at Harrisburg Area Community College

Advanced Database Searching (HACC Video)

These databases are useful when performing research on timely or controversial topics. Many will show both sides (pro/con) of an issue.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text periodicals on issues from 1923 through current. All articles include an introduction to the topic, a lengthy overview, background information, the current situation, the outlook, and a pro/con section.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Topic overviews, contrasting viewpoints, articles, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and recommended websites covering specific issues.

These databases include full-text articles in magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Searches across all EBSCOhost databases simultaneously.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Searches across all ProQuest databases. Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering every subject area and news topics.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and book chapters, in topics of communication, mass media and related fields of cultural studies, film studies, marketing and business.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier provides full-text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. Also includes reference books, biographies, and images.

Newspapers offer current, local information about topics. You can limit by location, word count, and reading level.

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 news sources including Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and LA Times.
NewsBank America's Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Articles from Pennsylvania and national newspapers.
The Patriot News (1986- ), Lancaster Inelligencer Journal (1995- ), Lancaster New Era (1995- ), Lancaster Sunday News (1995- ), Lebanon Daily News (09/15.2001- ), York Daily Record & Sunday News (09/16/2001- ), and the York Dispatch (09/2001- ). Does not provide cover-to-cover text of the print editions.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for more than 40 newspapers and select text for 389 regional US newspapers.