Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FS 100 - College Success - Roof: Research

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them (Video)

Recommended Search Terms

We recommend that students combine a term from the first column, with a term from the second column within a database:

Study Skill Terms you could use are... College Related Terms you could use are..
Study Skills
Study Habits
Learning Strategies
Test Preparation
Test-taking skills
Time management
Peer Tutoring
Study groups
Pre-writing (Writing Process)
Strategic Reading
Study Strategies
Memorization
Active Learning
Engaged Reading
Notetaking
Concept Mapping
Mnemonics
Test-Anxiety - prevention
Test Coaching
College Students
Undergraduate students
Community Colleges
Higher Education

All HACC Databases

Find databases, grouped by subject areas, under Databases By Subject.

If you know the name of the database, find it under Databases A-Z. Click the Databases A-Z tab to go to the alphabetical list.

Recommended databases for your scholarly article

In any of these databases, click the box next to the Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Articles limiter to make sure your results include only scholarly articles.

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Use Encyclopedias and Dictionaries to get started with background information on your topic.