Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Refining Your Search
When you perform a database search, often you will be given a lot of results -more than you could ever go through. When this happens, it's important to tell the database exactly what kind of resources your looking for by applying filters.
Filters (sometimes called limiters) help take away search results you don't want. You can filter by type and date.
Type - Each of these filters helps to make sure that the kinds of results your search gives you are appropriate for research.
- Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals - Limits results to only articles that have been reviewed by other experts (so we know we can trust it too).
- Academic Journals - Limits results to only articles presenting research and findings.
- Full Text - Limits results to only articles you can access right now. However, remember that the library can bring in journals we don't currently have from other libraries.
Date - These filters limit your results according to when they were published.
- Limit results to the last 5 years - This ensures that you only see the most recent articles on your topic. You may continue to subtract years if your results are still too large.
Why use a background information resource?
- They provide overviews of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
- They provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
- They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
- They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.
Recommended number of keywords: 1-2
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.
Biography In Context
Biographies of influential people worldwide and from many time periods. Includes encyclopedia articles, magazine articles, and some multimedia.
Oxford Reference Online
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.
These are some databases you may find useful in your search fo articles.
Recommended number of keywords: 2-4
Searches across all ProQuest databases. Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering every subject area and news topic.
Searches across all EBSCOhost databases simultaneously. Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.