Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 101 - English Composition I - Yontosh

About the Author...

Use this database as a starting point for biographical information on the author of your assigned reading. Knowing something about their life and background can help inform why the author is credible.

This literature-focused database includes biographical information about authors, as well as popular and scholarly examinations of their work, and even interviews the authors may have given.

Dictionary Databases

Use the library's reference databases, shown below, to look up definitions and word origins.  Search the whole database to see multiple definitions from different reference books, include specialized subject dictionaries.  Alternatively, you can use the links in the next section to access a general-purpose dictionary or thesaurus.  

Oxford Reference, which is listed first, is the one we looked at in class.  

 

Word Origins & Meanings

Citation Quick Links

If you use library the recommended databases, as shown above, you will be able to pull citations from the database.  Make sure that you select the MLA-style citation, and check that the information provided reflects the article you're using.  

  • For Biography in Context, scroll down to the bottom of the article to see citation tools.
  • For Oxford Reference, click the pencil icon, at the top of the article to see citation tools.