Drawing lessons from writers of all ages and writing across genres, a distinguished teacher and writer reveals the enduring importance of writing for our time
From one of America's most influential teachers, a collection of the best writing advice distilled from fifty language books -- from Aristotle to Strunk and White.
Fun and innovative exercises and prompts for creative writing students
The definitive source of information, insight, and advice for creative writers, from the nation's largest and most trusted organization for writers, Poets & Writers.
In this book, David Lehman, the longtime series editor of the Best American Poetry, offers a masterclass in writing in form and collaborative composition.
Let Writer's Market 2020 guide you through the process with thousands of publishing opportunities for writers, including listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents--as well as new playwriting and screenwriting sections. These listings feature contact and submission information to help writers get their work published.
Writers and Authors: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Biographers -Bloggers -Content writers -Copywriters -Novelists -Playwrights -Screenwriters -Speechwriters
As the author of twenty-four novels, Elizabeth George is one of the most successful--and prolific--novelists today. In Mastering the Process, George offers readers a master class in the art and science of crafting a novel.
In Great Stories Don't Write Themselves, Larry Brooks has developed a series of detailed checklists backed by tutorial content for novelists of every level and genre to refer to as they write regardless of which writing method they prefer.
Martin clearly delineates helpful and practical techniques for demystifying the writing process and provides tools for perfecting the art of the scene, characterization, detail, point of view, language, and revision--in short, the art of writing.
Freefall into Fiction: Finding Form is designed to help writers, step-by-step, to create publishable short stories, novels, and memoirs...
FLASH! identifies the qualities that make for excellent flash fiction, demystifies the writing process and guides writers by exercise and example through the world of the very short story.
In Brevity, David Galef provides a guide to writing flash fiction, from tips on technique to samples by canonical and contemporary authors to provocative prompts that inspire powerful stories in a little space.
This accessible writer's guide provides a helpful framework for creating poetry and navigates contemporary concerns and practices.
. Written in short, easy-to-digest chapters, My Shouting, Shattered, Whispering Voice includes prompts and inspiration, writing suggestions, and instruction.
This practical guide by poet and teacher Bruce Ross shows you how to capture a fleeting moment, like painting a picture with words, and how to give voice to your innermost thoughts, feelings, and observations.
Drawing on his classroom experience and the most persuasive research in contemporary composition studies, he devised an innovative new framework: a step-by-step method that moves the student through a series of writing problems, an organic, bottom-up writing process that exposes and acculturates them to the ways writers work in the world.
You will learn how to find a distinctive voice, use prompts to get started and keep writing, discover stories in impossible places, tackle (and enjoy) background research, and more.
Find more books about creative writing topics by searching the HACC Catalog and eBooks on EBSCOhost.
A collection consisting mostly of print books, eBooks, and streaming videos individually selected by HACC librarians to support the curriculum.
eBook collection covering a wide range of subjects. eBooks User Guide & Recommended Browser Settings
