Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 201 - Major English Writers I - Allen-Gleed

About Library Resources

When doing research, nearly anything can be a source. If you wanted a first-person account of someone's experience living during the Great Depression, an e-mail from a grandparent is just as valid a source as a formally published autobiographical book. Libraries specialize in the collection and organization of formally published works. Here at HACC, we purchase access to these publications so that you don't have to! We offer nearly 100 databases to help you find something that has been formally published as a book, article, or visual media. Included on this page is a small sample of the resources we have available in some of these categories. When accessing most of these resources from off-campus, you will be asked to enter your myHacc log-in information. 

Literature Databases

Literature Resource Center

Features literary criticism on literary figures and themes from subject specialized reference works and scholarly journals.

Literature & Language (ProQuest)

Articles covering English, American literature, world literature, and linguistics.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archive Collection

Contains digitized back issues of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete

Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.

Biography In Context

Biographies of influential people worldwide and from many time periods. Includes encyclopedia articles, magazine articles, and some multimedia.

Video Tutorials