It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HACC Library: Books and Media Catalog Search (Opens in New Page)
The HACC Library: Books and Media catalog is a searchable database of books, periodical titles, and audio-visual material available at Harrisburg Area Community College.
Social Media Strategy (3e) by Keith A. QuesenberrySocial Media Strategy: Marketing, Advertising and Public Relations in the Consumer Revolution, Third Edition is a blueprint for the practice of marketing communications, advertising and public relations in a digital world where the consumer has taken control. This book contributes to everything we are trying to teach our students, not just the latest in advertising techniques. In fact, the book is exceptionally comprehensive.... By focusing on core social science concepts, Quesenberry solidifies his lessons expertly. Quesenberry wraps up the text with a discussion on integrating social media across organizations and pulling his wide-ranging topics together. This conclusion demonstrates that the academic field is full of us marketing-professionals-turned-professors, and this is a text for us! It presents real-world problems in academic ways perfect for the classroom... [A]fter assigning it in the classroom, I have no doubt that my students will keep this book on their first office bookshelf. (Previous Edition Praise) - Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly Provides a solid foundation for introducing the complexity of social media strategy to students... [and] an outstanding introduction to the types of social media engagement and their representative platforms. ... While choosing a social media textbook often deserves the status of 'It's Complicated', any professor looking for a quality introductory textbook for social media would do well to be 'In a Relationship' with Quesenberry's contribution. (Previous Edition Praise) - Journal of Advertising Education Professor Quesenberry makes an important contribution in helping instructors to engage students in learning social media planning and strategy. Social Media Strategy helped my students present a real-world plan to our clients. The second edition adds important depth to the excellent framework for moving from theory to practice. - Jeremy Lipschultz, Isaacson Professor, University of Nebraska at Omaha After reviewing the second edition, I was impressed by the increased breadth and depth that are covered in this update. The new edition offers a thorough discussion of emerging trends in social media marketing as well as extensive coverage of platforms and topics that were just gaining momentum a few years ago, including live-streaming videos, Snapchat, Messenger, influencer marketing, and online reviews. I highly recommend Keith's book to both educators and practitioners of social media marketing alike. It is a must-have guide for anyone in the field. - Ai Zhang, Stockton University
Call Number: available via EBSCO eBook Collection
Publication Date: 2020
Ads, Fads, and Consumer Culture (6e) by Arthur Asa BergerThe sixth edition of this approachable text draws on both academic and applied perspectives to offer a lively critique of contemporary advertising's effects on American character and culture. Berger explains how advertising works by employing a psycho-cultural approach, encouraging readers to think about advertisements and commercials in more analytical and profound ways. Among the topics he addresses are the role of brands, the problem of self-alienation, and how both relate to consumption. Berger also considers the Values and Lifestyle (VALS) and Claritas typologies in marketing. Distinctive chapters examine specific advertisements and commercials from multiple perspectives, including semiotic, psychoanalytic, sociological, Marxist, mythic, and feminist analysis. Ads, Fads, and Consumer Culture provides an accessible overview of advertising in the United States, spanning issues as diverse as sexuality, politics, market research, consumer culture, and more; helping readers understand the role that advertising has played, and continues to play, in all our lives.
Call Number: available via EBSCO eBook Collection
Publication Date: 2020
The New Rules of Marketing and PR by David Meerman ScottThe seventh edition of the pioneering guide to generating attention for your idea or business, packed with new and updated information In the Digital Age, marketing tactics seem to change on a day-to-day basis. As the ways we communicate continue to evolve, keeping pace with the latest trends in social media, the newest online videos, the latest mobile apps, and all the other high-tech influences can seem an almost impossible task. How can you keep your product or service from getting lost in the digital clutter? The seventh edition of The New Rules of Marketing and PR provides everything you need to speak directly to your audience, make a strong personal connection, and generate the best kind of attention for your business. An international bestseller with more than 400,000 copies sold in twenty-nine languages, this revolutionary guide gives you a proven, step-by-step plan for leveraging the power of technology to get your message seen and heard by the right people at the right time. You will learn the latest approaches for highly effective public relations, marketing, and customer communications--all at a fraction of the cost of traditional advertising! The latest edition of The New Rules of Marketing & PR has been completely revised and updated to present more innovative methods and cutting-edge strategies than ever. The new content shows you how to harness AI and machine learning to automate routine tasks so you can focus on marketing and PR strategy. Your life is already AI-assisted. Your marketing should be too! Still the definitive guide on the future of marketing, this must-have resource will help you: Incorporate the new rules that will keep you ahead of the digital marketing curve Make your marketing and public relations real-time by incorporating techniques like newsjacking to generate instant attention when your audience is eager to hear from you Use web-based communication technologies to their fullest potential Gain valuable insights through compelling case studies and real-world examples Take advantage of marketing opportunities on platforms like Facebook Live and Snapchat The seventh edition of The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use Content Marketing, Podcasting, Social Media, AI, Live Video, and Newsjacking to Reach Buyers Directly is the ideal resource for entrepreneurs, business owners, marketers, PR professionals, and managers in organizations of all types and sizes.
Conversation Marketing by Kevin LundEach of us sees more than 5,000 marketing messages every day. In such a crowded marketplace, brands are scrambling to find new ways to cut through the clutter to reach consumers. With such intense competition, it's critical to stand apart beyond service and price. Conversation Marketing will help you connect your brands, not just to the minds of your consumers, but to their hearts. Slick slogans and catchy ads may still work in some instances, but today's discerning consumers demand more. They want information and a reason to connect with a brand before they act. They want a conversation. Conversation Marketing gives you and your company the powerful tools and strategies now required, including: How to earn your audience's attention and provide value at every touch point How to tell a meaningful story How to give your customers agency in the conversation and accept that they're in charge How to listen, not sell Change your strategy and your tone and you can change your results. Applying the rules from Conversation Marketing will help brands become publishers, increase sales, and establish a lifelong connection with their customers.
Introduction to Social Media Marketing by Todd KelseyEasily understand the most important tools and skills in social media marketing. You'll be exposed to Facebook pages and ads, work with Twitter and LinkedIn, save time with Hootsuite, and learn social media monitoring. If you are completely new to social media marketing and you want to learn the basics, this guide will introduce you to the content quickly. Introduction to Social Media Marketing has a particular focus on ROI (return on investment), to help you think critically about the value social media could bring a business or organization. You'll explore the question of whether or not it's worth it to invest time and money in each social media channel. What You'll Learn Understand basic functions for most social media tools, including how to get up and running See the benefits of social media tools and which one you should use for specific purposes Calculate the real ROI expected from using specific tools Utilize social media monitoring and analytics Who This Book Is For Those who need to get up to speed on a broad range of social media tools and techniques for business or personal use. This book is also suitable as a student reference.