Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 110 - Introduction to Communication - Wilson: Articles & Databases

Off-Campus Access to Library Databases

Logging in to HACC Library Databases from Off-Campus?

  • Use your myHACC Username & Password!

Research Tips!

Tips for Researching Communication Topics Successfully

  • Start with some background research--BUT REMEMBER, NOT ALL HACC LIBRARY DATABASES RETRIEVE SCHOLARLY/ACADEMIC articles and sources.
  • Use our communication-focused database: Communication & Mass Media Complete. (See the Communication Articles Database Box right below this one.)
  • Try a few different keyword searches. (See the boxes on the right side of this page for suggestions.)
  • When searching the articles databases linked to this page, check the box by scholarly and/or peer reviewed on the search screen if you need academic/scholarly articles.
  • When you find a useful article or other document, email it to yourself. 

Communications Articles Database

General or Multidisciplinary Databases

Big Three! -- Best Bets!

  • The big three general/multidisciplinary databases that will give you access to all types of articles (scholarly and popular) are the ones listed below:
  • Remember if you want to search for scholarly/peer reviewed articles you need to select the appropriate boxes--When I am given both scholarly and peer reviewed as selection boxes, I mark both!

Scholarly Only!

The following two databases are much more likely to retrieve scholarly/academic, rather than popular, articles. 

Basic Database Searching

Link to Social Sciences List of Databases

Link Below to HACC Library's Listing of Social Sciences Databases!

Important:

  • You will need to scroll down to get to the Social Sciences listing.
  • Because media is an "agent of socialization" in sociology, searching social sciences databases will probably be helpful.

Keyword Searching

Effective keyword searches....

  • Use AND, OR, or NOT (See the video on Boolean Searching in the box below.)
  • Contain the main topic words, leaving out words such as the, in, on, if, etc.
  • Often need to be modified as you go--So don't give up on the first try!