Your Project - PSPL 101 - Introduction to American Government - Wells - LibGuides at Harrisburg Area Community College

Your Assignments

Find databases, grouped by subject areas, under Databases By Subject.

If you know the name of the database, find it under Databases A-Z. Click the Databases A-Z tab to go to the alphabetical list.

HACC Library Databases
Select a database from this list to search for reference material, journal articles, newspapers. Use your myHACC portal Username and your myHACC portal Password to access databases from off-campus.

General article databases that cover a wide variety of subjects:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier provides full-text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. Also includes reference books, biographies, and images.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and reports covering every subject area.

Newspaper databases:

NewsBank America's Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Articles from Pennsylvania and national newspapers.

The Patriot News (1986- ), Lancaster Inelligencer Journal (1995- ), Lancaster New Era (1995- ), Lancaster Sunday News (1995- ), Lebanon Daily News (09/15.2001- ), York Daily Record & Sunday News (09/16/2001- ), and the York Dispatch (09/2001- ). Does not provide cover-to-cover text of the print editions.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for more than 40 newspapers and select text for 389 regional US newspapers.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 news sources including Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and LA Times.

Subject-specific databases:

Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Informs the research process for students in law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court and writing sociological reports.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news and scholarly research about all branches of the military, domestic and international politics, and governments.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology, social work, human services, criminal justice, anthropology, and cultural studies. Peer-reviewed journals, magazines, book chapters and conference proceedings.
Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in anthropology, criminology, cultural studies, human services, sociology, political science and public welfare.

Databases for controversial issues:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text periodicals on issues from 1923 through current. All articles include an introduction to the topic, a lengthy overview, background information, the current situation, the outlook, and a pro/con section.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Topic overviews, contrasting viewpoints, articles, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and recommended websites covering specific issues.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Curriculum-focused, streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Biography, National Geographic and others.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming of classic cinema, indie films, and top documentaries. Films remain available for 72 hours. Students and staff are required to create a Kanopy user account in order to access this database.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Collection of feature films useful to all academic areas.

Federal laws and statutes:

GovTrack
Use this website to identify federal laws or pending legislation for your group. Includes bills and resolutions from both the Senate and House.
Congress.gov
The official website of the U.S. Congress.
United States Senate
The official website of the U.S. Senate.
United States House of Representatives
The official website for the Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives.

Pennsylvania laws and statutes:

Pennsylvania General Assembly
The official website for the PA General Assembly
Pennsylvania Laws from FindLaw
Search for keywords or browse by topic to find user-friendly summaries of PA laws, with links to relevant sections of state statutes
The Pennsylvania Code Online
Contains regulations and other documents filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau for the State of Pennsylvania, except statues enacted by the General Assembly.

The U.S. Supreme Court and Federal courts:

The Supreme Court of the United States
The official Web site of the Supreme Court.
U.S. District Courts and Courts of Appeal
Federal cases, dockets and filings

We the People by Thomas E. Patterson
ISBN: 1259439186
Publication Date: 2016-12-23
We the People by Thomas Patterson is a concise approach to American Government emphasizing critical thinking through relevant examples that appeal to today's students. This extremely readable program provides opportunities to engage with the political process through tools that help students learn how to think about politics, utilizing digital resources that connect students with the material in a highly personalized way.