Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 102 - English Composition II - Schmidt

Linking to Sources

When citing sources, it is important to choose the correct type of link to provide. In this section, I will help you understand the difference and why you would use each type.

Browser URL

This is the address found in the address bar at the top of your browser. When you are bookmarking or sharing a URL of a normal website, this is fine. However, when you are in the library databases you should NOT use this URL. Databases create temporary URLs so if you try to use it again it won't work. 

decorative


Permalink

This link provides users from the same institution (in our case, HACC) a direct link to the same article with HACC's request to sign in through HACC's system embedded in it. For many institutions, this is called EZproxy. In order to get this link, you will need to look around the database to find their sharing options (it's called many different things). This URL will typically have the phrase ezproxy in the url, and anyone who clicks on it will be taken to the MyHACC login screen. After logging in, they will be redirected to the article you are sharing. If you need help finding this information for your article, please contact a librarian. 

Example from EBSCOhost:

decorative

Example from ProQuest:

decorative

Two Permalinks?

Our database JSTOR will sometimes provide two different links to the same article. This is because some articles are published under what is called Open Access, where the author wants their research to be freely available to all, even to researchers and students who don't subscribe to the journal it was published in.

In this first example, JSTOR indicates that the article was published under Open Access. For those articles, JSTOR only provides what they call a "stable URL" to the article, because it is freely available to everyone, whether their college has a JSTOR subscription or not. This is the link you would put in your citation.

decorative

The second example shows an article that is not Open Access; it is only available through a paid subscription to the database. Here, JSTOR gives you two links, the "Stable URL" and the "Remote Access URL." The remote access URL includes HACC's EZproxy in the address, and for these articles, this is the the link you want to use in your citation. 

decorative 

There's always an exception...

Above, I mentioned that you should not use the browser URL when citing an article from databases like EBSCOhost or ProQuest, because the database created a temporary URL based on your search.

In some other databases, the URLs are structured differently and the browser URL is your permalink. Two of these databases you will likely use are ScienceDirect and SAGE Journals.

Example from ScienceDirect:

decorative

Examples from SAGE Journals:

decorative

decorative

When using both of these databases, make sure you are viewing the full text of the article when you copy the URL from your browser.

As always, if you have any questions, please contact a librarian.