Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 101 - English Composition I - Atkins: Articles

Scholarly Journal Databases

Locate scholarly articles here!

These databases collect articles from journals, which are usually written by and for experts. When searching these databases be sure to limit your results to Scholarly (Peer-reviewed) Journals.

Recommended number of keywords: 2-4

Combining your Keywords

Choose simple but clear keywords and connect them with boolean language (AND, OR, NOT)

AND Searches for places where both keywords appear together
OR Searches for either of the keywords. They might be together or they might not.
NOT Searches for places where the first keyword appears without the second.

Examples:

  • Stress AND College
  • Indians NOT India
  • Pets AND Cats OR Dogs

Refining Your Search

When you perform a database search, often you will be given a lot of results -more than you could ever go through. When this happens, it's important to tell the database exactly what kind of resources your looking for by applying filters.

Filters (sometimes called limiters) help take away search results you don't want. You can filter by type and date.

Type - Each of these filters helps to make sure that the kinds of results your search gives you are appropriate for research.

  • Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals - Limits results to only articles that have been reviewed by other experts (so we know we can trust it too).
  • Academic Journals - Limits results to only articles presenting research and findings.
  • Full Text - Limits results to only articles you can access right now. However, remember that the library can bring in journals we don't currently have from other libraries.

Date - These filters limit your results according to when they were published.

  • Limit results to the last 5 years - This ensures that you only see the most recent articles on your topic. You may continue to subtract years if your  results are still too large.

Magazines and Journals

Magazines and Journals are published regularly and as a result usually have much more up-to-date information than a normal reference book. However, not all journals and magazines are appropriate for research.

Popular Magazines are meant for general readers. Articles are usually short and easy to understand, but it is impossible to know where the writer got their information. Magazines like these are ones like you could buy off the shelf in a store. These are normally not appropriate sources for academic research.

  • Ex. National Geographic, Scientific American, Psychology Today, Time

Scholarly/Academic Journals are written by experts for experts. They are based on research that the writer has conducted, and the writer gives citations for all their information. Usually, scholarly sources are peer reviewed, meaning that other experts have approved this article before hand. So, we can more easily trust scholarly journals, and they are appropriate to use in your research.

Controversial Issues Databases

Begin researching here. Controversial issues databases like these are good for getting background knowledge on your topic and for seeing what points are being argued.

Made with Padlet