Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mythology Research Guide

Decorative border

Why Use Reference Books//Background Resources?

The resources on this "Background Information" page are great for finding definitions and overviews of mythological beings and topics. They are great starting points! Then dig a little deeper by looking for books and journal articles using the "Books " and "Databases" tabs above.

Why use these "reference" or "background" resources?

  • They provide overviews of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
  • They provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
  • They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
  • They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.

Background Resources

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.

Gale Ebooks

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.

Featured Online Reference Books