Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology

HACC Library: Books and Media Catalog Search (Opens in New Page)

The HACC Library: Books and Media catalog is a searchable database of books, periodical titles, and audio-visual material available at Harrisburg Area Community College.

 

Featured e-Books

Psychology: The basics

This compact introduction is the ideal primer for anyone looking for an accessible overview of the basic principles of psychology, the fascinating science of mind and behavior.

The Unapologetic Guide to Black Mental Health: Navigate an Unqual System, Learn Tools for Emotional Wellness

An unapologetic exploration of the Black mental health crisis--and a comprehensive road map to getting the care you deserve in an unequal system.

Crying and Laughing: the Emotional Development of Infants and Toddlers

Understand how young children's emotions develop

The Psychology of Later Life

Renowned experts in adult development and aging, Manfred Diehl and Hans-Werner Wahl synthesize decades of psychological research into a comprehensive volume that considers later life in the context of lifespan development, social and physical environmental factors, and historical-cultural influences. I

Personality Disorders: Elements, History, Examples, and Research

Personality Disorders systematically explores 10 personality disorders. Each chapter presents a comprehensive and in-depth picture of a particular disorder and its effects, not only on those who suffer from it but also on family, friends, and colleagues as well as the community at large.

Social Psychology: How Other People Influence Our Thoughts and Actions

This book provides an introduction to social psychology that covers its history, theories, and core concepts.

Sex and Belonging: On the Psychology of Sexual Relationships

Schneider, a practising clinical psychologist for over 30 years, outlines a new model of psychological drives around sexual behaviour. This model unifies the notions of attachment, belonging, desire, attraction and early sexual experience, to create a firm theoretical basis for psychological intervention in human sexual relationships.

Brain Changers: Major Advances in Children’s Learning and Intelligenc

This book presents an in-depth look at successful learning techniques and current brain research about how to increase children's learning potential at all age levels

Featured Print Titles

Psychology: The comic book introduction

An award-winning animator and cartoonist teams up with a cognitive psychologist to introduce readers to the complex--and often comedic--world of psychology.

Great Myths of Adolescence

. The book explores myths related to sex, drugs and self-control, as well as many others. The authors define each myth, identify each myth's prevalence and present the latest and most significant research debunking the myth.

Infant and Toddler Development from Conception to Age 3

Each chapter taps a distinct area of research to shed light on babies' biological expectations for care and their amazing competence as active participants in that care.

Psychology of Women: a handbook of issues and theories

Updated with findings from the latest research, this contributed work on the psychology of women covers global initiatives, theories, and practical applications in various settings.

Understanding Psychopathy: the Biopsychosocial Perspective

t. Through the lens of the biopsychosocial model, Thomson explores a wide range of factors contributing to the development of psychopathy, from the genetic to the environmental, supported by the latest research into the disorder.

Social Psychology: the Basics

In a jargon-free and accessible manner, Social Psychology: The Basics critically examines these fundamental principles of social psychology, and provides a thorough overview of this fascinating area.

A Research Guide to Psychology

This authoritative research guide uses a problem-solving approach to presenting print and electronic resources.

Emotion: a Very Short Introduction

Drawing on a wide range of scientific research, from anthropology and psychology to neuroscience and artificial intelligence, Evans takes the readeron a fascinating journey into the human heart, discussing the evolution of emotions and their biological basis, the science of happiness, and the role that emotions play in memory and decision making.

Browse for Psychology Books

Check out the following Library of Congress (LC) ranges for books about psychology, mental disorders, and related topics:

BF 1-940 Psychology

RC 435-569.5: Psychiatry (includes Psychoses, Neuroses, and Personality Disorders)

RJ 499-507: Child Psychiatry