Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOCI 203 - Marriage and Family - St. Pierre

This guide recommends library databases and other resources which will help you to complete your research assignment for SOCI 203

E-book Databases

eBooks on EBSCOhost

eBook collection covering a wide range of subjects.

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and topical content covering a variety of subject areas.

Featured e-Books

The Shadow System: Mass Incarceration and the American Family

From an award-winning journalist, a searing exposé of the effects of the mass incarceration crisis on families -- including the 2.7 million American children who have a parent locked up.

Domestic Violence and Abuse

Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a rich and scholarly assessment of this important social issue while also including stories and profiles for a more personal understanding.

The Problem with Parenting: How Raising Children Is Changing Across America

This book examines the relationship between changes to the family and the emergence of parenting, defined here as a specific mode of childrearing.

The Mating Game: How Gender Still Shapes How We Date

Despite enormous changes in patterns of dating and courtship in twenty-first-century America, contemporary understandings of romance and intimacy remain firmly rooted in age-old assumptions of gender difference.

Struggling in the Land of Plenty: Race, Class, and Gender in the Lives of Homeless Families

Based on a four-year ethnographic study, Anne R. Roschelle examines how socially structured race, class, and gender inequality contributed to the rise in family homelessness and the devastating consequences for parents and their children.

Voluntarily Childfree: Identity and Kinship in the United States

Despite the stigmas of selfishness and solitude, the voices in Voluntarily Childfree speak poignantly of their commitment to a different type of family that includes romantic partners, friends, pets, and future generations through mentorship and leadership opportunities.