LibGuides: Sociology: Reference Resources

Why Use Background Databases?

Our background databases mostly contain content from subject specialized encyclopedias and other reference books. They can be especially helpful because:

They provide overviews of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
They provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of sociology

This classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.

The Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology

Publisher's description: This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.

Sociology Dictionaries

The resources below are great for definitions and overviews:

Cambridge dictionary of sociology
Featuring entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.
Penguin dictionary of sociology
Reflects the shifts of sociological thought in the last five years. It is designed to support students and teachers of sociology and other related courses and the general reader.
World of Sociology
A comprehensive, subject-specific guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, developments and pioneers related to the field of sociology. Coverage includes alphabetically arranged topical essays, definitions and biographies, intelligently organized and written in clear, concise and easy-to-understand language.

Background Information on Social Issues

This database specializes in overviews of social issues from various viewpoints. It can also point you in the direction of additional resources:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text periodicals on issues from 1923 through current. All articles include an introduction to the topic, a lengthy overview, background information, the current situation, the outlook, and a pro/con section.

Sociology

Why Use Background Databases?

Our background databases mostly contain content from subject specialized encyclopedias and other reference books. They can be especially helpful because:

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of sociology

The Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology

Sociology Dictionaries

The resources below are great for definitions and overviews:

Background Information on Social Issues

This database specializes in overviews of social issues from various viewpoints. It can also point you in the direction of additional resources:

Background Resources

Credo Reference

Gale Ebooks

Oxford Reference Online