Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AH 140 - Introduction to Allied Health - Karpinski, Long, & Smith

Welcome to the AH140 class guide! This guide will help you to complete your research project on careers in the medical field.

Log in to HACC Resources

In order to log into the library resources, you need a username and pasword.

myHACC Login https://my.hacc.edu

Change your myHACC password https://accounts.hacc.edu

 

Types of Articles

popular magazine

Popular resources contain articles from magazines and newspapers that can be found at local bookstores, grocery stores or newsstands. These resources have glossy pages with bright colors and images. They feature many advertisers. Trendy issues and opinions, not serious research, tend to make up the bulk of these publications (56).

Upson, Matt, et al. Information Now: A Graphic Guide to Student Research. U of Chicago P, 2015

 

 
trade periodical picture

Professional or trade publications specialize in information relevant to a profession or industry and are published by professional organizations. Articles found in trrade publications may be acceptable for research, but be sure to verify questionable claims or conclusions (57).

Upson, Matt, et al. Information Now: A Graphic Guide to Student Research. U of Chicago P, 2015

 
scholarly article picture

These articles are written by professional academics and researchers. The articles are published by professional organizations or academic institutions and feature original research and analysis of topics of importance to a profession or academic area. The articles are peer reviewed. These are credible sources (59).

Upson, Matt, et al. Information Now: A Graphic Guide to Student Research. U of Chicago P, 2015

 

Keyword Searching

Keyword search infographic

Keyword searches find articles that contain the word(s) typed in the search box. Brainstorm synonyms and alternative words for your topic, thesis, or essential question. Using words such as AND, OR, and NOT with your keywords help narrow or expand the search results.

Database Limiters

Database limiters reduce the number of search results. I have highlighted only a few of the database limiters. Please experiment with the other limiters offered for database searches.

This type of search will locate complete articles, not just abstracts describing the contents of the articles.

Complete articles can be located without limiting to full-text. Click the "Find It" link next to an article in the search results and follow the instructions to request the full article.

Examples of source types include scholarly/peer reviewed articles, magazines, and newspapers. Other source types are also available as limiters

Depending on your topic, you may want to limit the search results date to recent publication years.

Useful Databases

Conduct your searches similarly to how you would in the library catalog:

 vocational guidance AND name of career interest

 You will get links to citations and full text articles that have this topic as their main focus.

Not all of them will have career advice or salary information. For that type of information you need to consult FERGUSON'S CAREER GUIDANCE CENTER.

 Facts about work responsibilities, training, and education required by various occupations. Includes earnings, job prospects,         working conditions and more.

The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation. Information from this database forms the heart of O*NET OnLine, an interactive application for exploring and searching occupations.

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

scholarly article and popular article description

Scholarly vs. Popular

A scholarly and popular articles differ. Scholarly articles are written by experts in their fields and are the most reliable sources. Popular articles are written by journalists and not experts in one particular field.

  • Length for scholarly articles are sometimes 5-50 pages
  • Audience for scholarly articles are academics, college students, and scholarly audiences
  • Expertise for scholarly articles. written by academics, professors, specials, researchers
  • Peer-reviewed. Scholarly articles are peer-reviewed by authorities in a particular subject field that decide whether it is a credible piece of research.
  • Subjects. Scholarly articles are confined to a single, very specific aspect or a subject area.