Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 050 - Fundamentals of College Writing - Allen Gleed: Background Information

Need a Topic?

Looking for Inspiration?

The HACC Databases can be used to find research topic Ideas!

CQ Researcher Plus Archive

Look on the left for Browse by Topic.

Opposing Viewpoints

As soon as you enter the database, you will see a list of popular subject areas. Browse these for articles about your favorite subject.

Background Resources

Background Resources Overview

I. What is a background database?

 A background database is a database which gives you background information on a topic. Background information can include the history of a topic, the current issue involved, people connected with the topic, etc. II. What background databases are available at HACC?

II.  We currently subscribe to the following databases:

CQ Researcher

Opposing Viewpoints

III. What do background databases have in common?

  • They give you background information
  • They provide evaluated Web sites
  • They provide links to articles and books
  • They include pro/con debates
  • They include current news stories

 

 IV. What do background databases have in common with our online book catalog and other databases?

  • Background databases may search by keyword  or subject
  • Background databases can have a basic screen and an advanced screen