Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDUC 140 - Integrating the Arts and Play as Educative Process - Schindel: Citation Help

Welcome to EDUC 140 with Professor Schindel.

Citation Examples

This page provides some examples for how to cite properly in APA format. Remember to add the hanging indent to your citations!

To cite an image from a website in APA format

From the University of Albany's CitationFox:

General Form:

Artist’s Last Name, Initials. (Artist). (Year). Title of work [Medium of composition]. Retrieved from http://xxx.xx

 

Citation Examples:

Bierstadt, A. (Artist). (1863). The Rocky Mountains, Lander's Peak [Artwork]. Retrieved from http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/10154

Gignoux, R. F. (Artist). (1860-1885). Haverstraw on the Hudson. [Artwork]. Retrieved from http://www.albanyinstitute.org/details/items/haverstraw-on-the-hudson.html

Sargent, J. S. (Artist). (1880). Fumée D'ambre Gris (Smoke of Ambergris) [Artwork]. Retrieved from http://media.clarkart.edu/Web_medium_images/1955.15.jpg.

Warhol, A. (Artist). (1973). Mao [Artwork]. Retrieved from http://images.metmuseum.org/CRDImages/ma/mobile-large/DP149490.jpg

 

Notes:

  • Cite primary contributors in the Author's space followed by their contributing role in parentheses.

  • Other forms for [Medium of composition] include:

    • [Artwork]
    • [Sculpture]
    • [Photograph]

     

  • Use (n.d.) for No date.

  • Indent 2nd plus lines (5 spaces) and double space the citation.

  • Remember to use the Permalink for the image.

Citing a journal article from a database

From the University of Albany's CitationFox:

General Form:

Author’s Last Name, Initials. (Year). Title of article:Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume (issue), page range. doi:xxx.xx or Retrieved from Publisher's homepage URL http://xxx.xxx or doi:xxx.xx

 

Citation Examples:

D'Aversa, A. (2017). Brewing better law: Two proposals to encourage innovation in America's craft beer industry. University of Pennsylvania Law Review, 165(6), 1465-1493. Retrieved from http://www.law.upenn.edu/lrev/info.htm

Hill, C. (2016). Deflationism: The best thing since pizza and quite possibly better. Philosophical Studies, 173(12), 3169-3180. doi:10.1007/s11098-016-0655-x

Lombardini, J. (2017). Comic democracies: From ancient Athens to the American Republic. Journal of Interdisciplinary History, 48(1), 80-81. Retrieved from http://mitpress.mit.edu/journal-home.tcl?issn=00221953

 

Notes:

  • Cite source with doi or publisher's Homepage URL.

  • Publisher's homepage URL is not the database URL, an Internet search will retrieve this information

  • Subtitle: 1st word is capitalized.

  • Journal Name and volume number are italicized

  • Indent 2nd plus lines (5 spaces) and double space the citation.

To cite an image from a database such as ARTStor

From the University of Albany's CitationFox:

General Form:

Artist’s Last Name, Initials. (Artist). (Year). Title of work [Medium of composition]. Retrieved from http://xxx.xx

 

Citation Examples:

Cassatt, M. (1908-9). Denise at her dressing table. [Artwork]. Retrieved from http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/2005.129/

Sargent, J. S. (n.d.). Algérienne accroupie [Artwork]. Retrieved from http://musee.louvre.fr/bases/lafayette/

Stuart, G. (1793-5). Stephen Van Rensselaer III. [Artwork]. Retrieved from http://images.nga.gov/?service=asset&action=show_preview&asset=92998.

van Gogh, V. Starry night over the Rhone River, Arles [Artwork]. Retrieved from http://www.artres.com/Doc/ART/Media/TR2/S/K/3/4/ART147119.jpg.

 

Notes:

  • Cite primary contributors in the Author's space followed by their contributing role in parentheses.

  • Other forms for [Medium of composition] include:

    • [Artwork]
    • [Sculpture]
    • [Photograph]

     

  • Use (n.d.) for No date.

  • Indent 2nd plus lines(5 spaces) and double space the citation.

  • Remember to use the Permalink for the image as provided in ARTStor.

Citing an entry from a reference source, such as an online encyclopedia

From the University of Albany's CitationFox:

General Form:

Title of reference entry. (Year). In Editor's Initials Last Name (Ed.), Title of reference work. Retrieved from http://xxx.xx

 

Citation Examples:

Abūʾl-Wafāʾ: Persian mathematician. (n.d.) Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved from httpa://www.britannica.com/biography/Abul-Wafa.

Cheyenne Dog Soldiers. (2016). In P. Davis (Ed.), Encyclopedia of historical warrior peoples and modern fighting Groups. Retrieved from http://online.salempress.com.

Civil Rights. (2016). IWashington information directory 2016–2017. doi: 10.4135/9781506333991.n70

Zero Hunger. (2017). Atlas of sustainable development goals 2017: From World Development Indicators Retrieved from https://ebookcentral.proquest.com.

 

Notes:

  • Cite Book Author as Entry Author if unedited book.

  • If the book is not "freely" available, use "Available from," rather than "Retrieved from."

  • p. for 1 page; pp. for multiple pages

  • Version name appears after book title, e.g., [Kindle Edition version].

  • Use (n.d.) for No date.

  • Indent 2nd plus lines (5 spaces) and double space the citation.