Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Empowering student success. Inspiring lifelong learning.
Books & Media
Articles & Databases
Search this Group
History: Reference Resources
Contact a Librarian
Why use background information resources?
They provide overviews of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
They provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.
Reference Book Databases
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.
Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.
Oxford Reference Online
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.
Combined searchable encyclopedia sets in the Milestone Documents series, The Decades series, Great Lives from History series, and Great Events from History series available from Salem Press.
Dec 4, 2020 3:54 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
History (United States)