Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 101 - Effective Speaking - Beck: Articles

Basic Database Searching

What is a database?

HACC's library databases provide a variety of related information that is available to you online.

A database might contain:

  • Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers on a variety of topics.
  • Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers that focus on a specific subject area (such as business or psychology).
  • Online encyclopedias or dictionaries
  • Specialized collections of information about history, literature, controversial issues, and much more!


HACC Databases are available anywhere that you have an Internet connection.  If you are off-campus, you will be asked to log in using your HACC ID number and PIN before entering the database.

Background Information / Controversial Issues

These databases are useful when performing research on timely or controversial topics.  Many will show both sides (pro/con) of an issue.

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Use Encyclopedias and Dictionaries to get started with background information on your topic.

Advanced Database Searching

All HACC Databases

Find databases, grouped by subject areas, under Databases By Subject. Your topic will determine which subject database you choose.

If you know the name of the database, find it under Databases A-Z.

Newspaper Sources

Newspapers offer current, local information about topics. You can limit by location, word count, and reading level.

General Article Databases

These databases include full-text articles in magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas.