Use this guide to find library resources and information for your class.
Campus Opening Update:
All HACC campuses are now open. Find current information here.
More than 80 electronic information storage systems that can only be accessed through HACC Library. These databases contain articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, trade publications, encyclopedias, dictionaries, ebooks and streaming media. Accessed via Articles & Databases on the library website.
URL/web address that will permanently point to a specific online source, such as a library database article, ebook, or video. Also a document URL (Proquest databases); permanent link; dedicated link; persistent link; and Bookmark URL (Gale databases).
The broad term for material that is published at regular intervals such as daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc. Examples of periodicals include: newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications.
A periodical that consists of popular articles written for the general reader rather than for scholars in a particular field.
Periodical sources that are written for a specific audience using specialized vocabulary. The authors are experts sharing research from their field. These titles expansive articles with research, citations, and bibliographic information. Examples of scholarly journals include: Laboratory Medicine, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, and Journal of Periodontology.
An electronic version of a book that can be read on an electronic device. Some ebooks originate as print books, some do not.
Encyclopedias that contain background information on a specific topic. They provide more in-depth information and are academically oriented. Entries are often written by authors with professional knowledge or a background on a topic. Examples of subject specialized encyclopedias include: Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior, and Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures.
Available on many subjects
Drop-In or By Appointment
