Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 003/057 - McNair

This guide supports the research assignment for Professor McNair's ENGL 003 and ENGL 057 classes.

Hello From Your Class Librarian

Hi Class!

See below for a copy of your assignment, and important research terms. These are terms that I will be referring to during our class time together.

To find your sources, use the links to the left. Your sources can be any type of library resource that you find helpful; as long as it is print-based (no streaming videos or audio recordings). 

If you need help from me or another librarian, use the "Get Help" link to the left.

Assignments

Coming soon...

Important Library and Research Terms

Library Databases:

More than 80 electronic information storage systems that can only be accessed through HACC Library. These databases contain articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, trade publications, encyclopedias, dictionaries, ebooks and streaming media. Accessed via Articles & Databases on the library website.

Permalink:

URL/web address that will permanently  point to a specific online source, such as a library database article, ebook, or video. Also a document URL (Proquest databases); permanent link; dedicated link; persistent link; and Bookmark URL (Gale databases).

 

The terms listed below are examples of the types of sources you are most likely to find in our library databases

 

Periodicals:

The broad term for material that is published at regular intervals such as daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc. Examples of periodicals include: newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications.

Magazines:

 A periodical that consists of popular articles written for the general reader rather than for scholars in a particular field.

Scholarly Journals:

Periodical sources that are written for a specific audience using specialized vocabulary. The authors are experts sharing research from their field. These titles expansive articles with research, citations, and bibliographic information. Examples of scholarly journals include: Laboratory Medicine, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, and Journal of Periodontology.

eBooks:

An electronic version of a book that can be read on an electronic device. Some ebooks originate as print books, some do not.

Subject Specialized Encyclopedia:

Encyclopedias that contain background information on a specific topic. They provide more in-depth information and are academically oriented. Entries are often written by authors with professional knowledge or a background on a topic. Examples of subject specialized encyclopedias include: Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior, and Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures.