Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 217 - African-American Literature - Gray

This guide supports Professor Gray's analytical research report assignment.

Background Information

Start your research by getting some background information on your topic.Then move on to the books and article links to the left to find the most scholarly resources. Here are some great background resources:

African American Focused Background Resources

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History (GVRL)

A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.

African-American Writers

Contains biographical and critical essays on the work of important African American writers.

Background Resources

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.

Gale Ebooks

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.

Analytical Research Report

Coming soon...

Guide Creator

Profile Photo
Lisa Weigard
Contact:
Library Faculty

Working Remotely
Email: ejweigar@hacc.edu
Cell: 717-371-6181
Subjects: Faculty, Lancaster

Contact a Librarian

Chat

Available for quick help 24 hours a day, 365 days a year!

meet

Schedule time with a librarian for in-depth research help.

email

Get a response within 48 hours

text

Text us at 717-722-0009