MUS 102 - Introduction to Music - Knisely

Poetry and the Romantic Musical Aesthetic

Lyric Cousins: Poetry and Musical Form

The Sonata

Basic Elements of Music: A Primer for Musicians, Music Teachers, and Students

The Orchestra: a Very Short Introduction

Who Knew?: Answers to Questions About Classical Music You Never Thought to Ask

The History of Music

Early Music: a Very Short Introduction

Philosophy of Music: An Introduction

The Life of Music: New Adventures in the Western Classical Tradition

The Possessor and the Possessed: Handel, Mozart, Beethoven, and the Idea of Musical Genius

Poetry and the Romantic Musical Aesthetic

Lyric Cousins: Poetry and Musical Form

The Sonata

Experiencing Stravinsky: A Listener's Companion

Experiencing Verdi: A Listener's Companion

Experiencing Schumann: A Listener's Companion

The Classical Music Lover's Companion to Orchestral Music

You Are What You Hear

Lifelong Engagement with Music: Benefits for Mental Health and Well-Being

Experiencing Beethoven: A Listener's Companion

Experiencing Mozart: A Listener's Companion

Experiencing Stravinsky: A Listener's Companion

Experiencing Verdi: A Listener's Companion

Experiencing Schumann: A Listener's Companion

Music and Technology: A Historical Encyclopedia

The Harvard Dictionary of Music (4th ed.)

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music

Classical Music: An Introduction

The Oxford Companion to Music

Oxford Dictionary of Music (6th ed.)

Historical Dictionary of Baroque Music

Music and Technology: A Historical Encyclopedia

The Harvard Dictionary of Music (4th ed.)

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music

Kanopy

On-demand streaming of classic cinema, indie films, and top documentaries. Films remain available for 72 hours. Students and staff are required to create a Kanopy user account in order to access this database.

Feature Films for Education

Includes hundreds of full-length feature films of both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, and award winners.

Swank Digital Campus

Collection of feature films useful to all academic areas.

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Over 70,000 streaming video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Films on Demand

Curriculum-focused, streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Biography, National Geographic and others.

Kanopy

On-demand streaming of classic cinema, indie films, and top documentaries. Films remain available for 72 hours. Students and staff are required to create a Kanopy user account in order to access this database.

Feature Films for Education

Includes hundreds of full-length feature films of both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, and award winners.

Swank Digital Campus

Collection of feature films useful to all academic areas.

Classical Destinations: The Great Composers

The great cities and towns of Europe and the UK form the backdrops for the stories of the world's greatest classical composers. This unique series travels to cities stepped in rich history, engaging stories, and the beloved music each composer wrote there.

Great Performances: Now Hear This

Renowned violinist and conductor Scott Yoo hosts a documentary series that merges music, storytelling, and travel, as he chases the secret histories of some of the greatest music ever written.

The Orchestra

Before Bobby can join the orchestra, he needs to learn all about it from Strauss the Conductor. This three-part series uses the antics of two engaging puppet characters and a live orchestra to introduce viewers to the different instruments, their history, techniques, and sounds, ultimately showing how the conductor brings them together to make beautiful music.

Early Musical Instruments

The ancestors to modern instruments are described and demonstrated by the Early Music Consort of London.

Howard Goodall's Big Bangs: Turning Points in Music History

Composer and pianist Howard Goodall charts the "big bangs" that forever changed the course of Western music, from the invention of the thin red line in musical notation, to modern electronic music.

Classical Destinations: The Great Composers

The great cities and towns of Europe and the UK form the backdrops for the stories of the world's greatest classical composers. This unique series travels to cities stepped in rich history, engaging stories, and the beloved music each composer wrote there.

Great Performances: Now Hear This

Renowned violinist and conductor Scott Yoo hosts a documentary series that merges music, storytelling, and travel, as he chases the secret histories of some of the greatest music ever written.

The Orchestra

Before Bobby can join the orchestra, he needs to learn all about it from Strauss the Conductor. This three-part series uses the antics of two engaging puppet characters and a live orchestra to introduce viewers to the different instruments, their history, techniques, and sounds, ultimately showing how the conductor brings them together to make beautiful music.