Before you begin your research spend some time thinking about what types of sources you might need to answer your research question. As you select your sources consider what role each source will play in your research:
A background database is a database which gives you background information on a topic. Background information can include the history of a topic, the current issue involved, people connected with the topic,
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.
Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.
| Consider the... | Scholarly Publications are... | Popular Publications are... |
|---|---|---|
| Length of Articles |
Lengthy, often more than 10 pages, and include areas such as abstracts, methods, results, and discussions. |
Short, fewer than 10 pages, and lack structural subsections. |
| Audience | Written for academics or professionals with advanced language. | Written for the general public in non-specialized language. |
| Authority & Expertise | Written by academics, specialists, or researchers in the field. | Written by journalists or professional writers. |
| Bibliography | Well researched and includes information about their sources in an area called References, Works Cited, or Footnotes so a reader can consult the material that the author used. | sometimes researched, but sources are seldom included with the article. A good editor will check the writer's sources. |
| Frequency | published monthly, quarterly, or yearly. | published daily, weekly, or monthly. |
| Inclusions | not decorated with images and only have specialized advertising if any is included. They will also include reviews of the literature, charts, data, and tables along with descriptions of how their research was conducted. | full of decorative photographs, illustrations, and text. They also include a lot of product advertisements. |
| Subjects | Confined to a single, specific aspect of a subject area such as music theory, European political science, film studies, language development, or stem cell research. | Often inclusive of many subjects, such as in Time, People, Newsweek, or focused on a single subject with the intention of entertaining such as in Wired or Sports Illustrated. |
| Vocabulary | written with technical or specialized vocabulary unique to a subject area. | written in conventional or conversational language, appropriate for most readers |
| Publication Process | sent to experts in the subject who review the article to evaluate credibility and accuracy before being published. This process is known as "peer-review". | sent to an editor who may know nothing of the topic. The editor might use a fact-checker, who also may not be familiar with the topic, to verify some information. |
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.
Searches across all ProQuest databases. Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering every subject area and news topics.
