LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Find OER

How to find OER

“How can I find OER?” Video by Council of Chief State School Officers, CC BY 4.0. Music by Lahaina by Blue Dot Sessions: CC BY NC 4.0

OER Learning Materials

Applied Math and Science Eduation Repository
AMSER is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use.
HippoCampus
HippoCampus, a project of the Monterey Institute of Technology and Education (MITE), is full of high-quality resources in a variety of subjects. It is aimed at high school and college level users.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Jamendo
Jamendo has a collection of royalty-free music that people may incorporate into their own videos.
JSTOR Open Community Collections
Features freely accessible primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.
Khan Academy
Hundreds of short educational videos covering many subjects with strong collections in science and math.
MERLOT
Established in 1997 through California State University Center for Distributed Learning, provides access to curated online learning, support and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. FREE membership requires only adding content to the collection.
OASIS
SUNY Geneseo’s Milne Library recently developed and launched an innovative new search tool that can access 52 different OER sources that contain more than 150,000 items.
OER Commons
This digital hub created by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Educationoffers 73,000 kinds of OER, along with tools for creating OER, training on how to use OER and the ability to create OER "Commons" — groups that share resources for a given purpose.
Phet
Free interactive math and science simulations.
Pressbooks interactive OER collection
This Pressbooks collection provides interactive open educational resources that demonstrate how interactive elements can enhance educational materials without additional cost
Skills Commons: Skills Labs
The US Department of Labor's Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program are providing this site containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development.
TED ED
This collection of thousands of TED-Ed Animations and TED Talks can be used to build lessons to include the video, interactive questions, and discussions.
TED talks
Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons contains media files (images, video, and music) which are openly licensed or in the public domain for anyone to contribute to or use

Creative Commons Education/OER Resources
This provides a variety of OER resources for images, videos, audio and recorded lectures among many others.
Creative Commons Images
Search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses.
Digital Public Library of America
What's included: Collection of digital images from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
Flikr
Search for images and video with creative commons licenses
Getty Open Content Program
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
JSTOR Open Community Collections
Features freely accessible primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.
Library of Congress
Features items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse
National Gallery of Art Images
More than 51,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
Picryl
Provides access to millions of public domain objects
Smithsonian Open Access
You can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from their collections.
TED
Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.
Wikimedia Commons
The thinkers behind Wikipedia bring you images, video and music all openly licensed or in the public domain.

Allgo
Allgo provides diverse images of plus-size individuals.
Disabled and Here
Disabled and Here features BIPOC and disabled individuals from the Pacific Northwest.
Gender Spectrum Collection
The Gender Spectrum Collection represents trans and nonbinary communities.
Images of Empowerment
Images of Empowerment provides images of empowerment of women from around the world.
Humaaans
Humaaans is a public domain site for creators to design custom illustrations.
Image Finder
Image Finder is a repository of photographs representing diverse individuals and diverse categories.
Nappy
Nappy provides photographs of Black and Brown individuals representing diversity in Creative Commons.
The Noun Project
The Noun Project is a global visual language site with the goal of uniting users of the world.
Pexels
Pexels provides diverse photographs to empower creators.
Photos for Class
Photos for Class is a collection of diverse imagery from various Creative Commons resources.
Unsplash
Free images and photos that you can download and use for any project
WOC in Tech
WOC in Tech provides photographs of women of color in business settings.

This list is a starting point. These are a few places where you can search for openly licensed textbooks. Some of these repositories contain only textbooks, while others contain other learning materials too.

Find Open Textbooks
A curated collection of open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty.
LibreTexts
"Freely available open education resources (OER) that supplant conventional paper-based text books. LibreTexts currently encompass twelve widely used college-level disciplines from chemistry to humanities."
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials.
1,000+ Open Textbooks and Learning Resources for All Subjects
Duplicates resources found on other sites, such as the Open Textbook Library, but may lead to some additional open textbooks
Open SUNY Course Quality Review Rubric (OSCQR)
Specifically targets online course design. The rubric can be used formatively with new online faculty to help guide, inform, and influence the design of their new online courses, and, it is non-evaluative.
Open Textbook Library
A catalog of open access textbooks to be reviewed by faculty members, made available by the University of Minnesota's College of Education and Human Development. All textbooks in this catalog are openly licenses, complete, and available in print at very little cost. Some reviews available.
OpenStax
OpenStax is an initiative of Rice University. A nonprofit organization, OpenStax provides free college textbooks developed and peer-reviewed by educators.

Access some textbooks from Open Textbook Library in the HACC Library catalog here.

OER by Subject

Please see the tabs above for subject specific resources. These not exhaustive lists and we encourage you to further explore the OER repositories listed above as new materials are continuously published.

English OER Textbooks

Open Textbook Library: Literature, Rhetoric, and Poetry
Includes British/World/American Literature; Composition; ESL; Business Writing; Technical Writing
Open Source Textbooks (English Composition)
Oklahoma City University
Comp I, Comp II; Business/Professional Writing
Open Access Textbooks (Writing Studio)
Colorado State University
OER's for English Courses
Sacramento City College
Composition; Literature; ESL; Technical Writing...
1,000+ Open Textbooks and Learning Resources for All Subjects
Duplicates resources found on other sites, such as the Open Textbook Library, but may lead to some additional open textbooks
Open Educational Resource 2017 Textbook List
Sacred Heart University
LibreTexts: Composition
LibreTexts: Literature
Find Open Textbooks: English
OER Commons: English
Has reading; composition; technical writing; business writing; creative writing
Writing for Success
This resource includes information on the writing process, rhetorical modes, research, citation, and grammar. It also includes a downloadable D2L course package.

Audio/Video Recordings (Poetry)

Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature (Library of Congress)
Contains nearly two thousand recordings—of poets and prose writers participating in literary events at the Library’s Capitol Hill campus as well as sessions at the Library’s Recording Laboratory.
Poetry Archive (Arts Council/England)
The Poetry Archive is a not-for-profit organisation that makes and acquires recordings of poets from around the English-speaking world and makes substantial excerpts from them freely available online.

Don't Forget HACC Library Resources!

Although HACC Library resources are not technically OER, since they are fee-based, they are free for students and faculty!

Build content for your courses by using permalinks to specific articles, ebooks, streaming videos, and more!

Database Linking Guide

Public Domain Content (Literature)

Project Gutenberg
Find the full text of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook creating organization in existence. Nothing fancy here, just files with the full text.
LibriVox
Free Public Domain Audiobooks
Bartleby.com
Great Books Online

Recommended Web Sites for Literature

Poetry:

Poets.org (Academy of American Poets)
Browse poems and poets
Publishes American Poet magazine
Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
Modern American Poetry
Contains criticism, biographical information, bibliographies, and commentaries on major American poets.

British: Medieval Through Restoration

Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
Medieval through Restoration

Coming Soon!

Contacts

OER Co-Chairs	OER Faculty Mentors
Allyson Valentine (afvalent@hacc.edu)	Valerie Gray (vagray@hacc.edu)
Karen Woodring (kpwoodri@hacc.edu)	Robert Wagner (rmwagner@hacc.edu)

Event: Participate in our Passport to Success event (on campus or remote) to learn more about the services available to support YOUR educational journey! Complete your passport and be entered to win a $50 Visa gift card! Check out the event page to learn more.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

How to find OER

OER Learning Materials

OER by Subject

Please see the tabs above for subject specific resources. These not exhaustive lists and we encourage you to further explore the OER repositories listed above as new materials are continuously published.

English OER Textbooks

Audio/Video Recordings (Poetry)

Don't Forget HACC Library Resources!

Public Domain Content (Literature)

Recommended Web Sites for Literature

Contacts

OER Co-Chairs

OER Faculty Mentors

Allyson Valentine (afvalent@hacc.edu)

Valerie Gray (vagray@hacc.edu)

Karen Woodring (kpwoodri@hacc.edu)

Robert Wagner (rmwagner@hacc.edu)