LibGuides: Mental Health: Articles and Journals

Article Databases

Try searching these databases to find articles on mental health topics.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.
DSM 5 Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from American Psychological Association journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on all aspects of psychology, psychiatry, and other related social sciences.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journal articles with limited full-text, book chapters, books, and dissertations . Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scientific studies and review articles. Major focus: science and medicine. Minor focus: social science and humanities.

Search Term Tips

The subject terms below can be used to find articles about topics significant to Mental Health and Illnesses.

"Mental Health"
"Mental Illness"
"Mental Disorders"
"Mental Health Services"
"Mental Health Counseling"

Try using these suggested keywords along with keywords related to your chosen topic or disorder when using the recommended databases:

Complications
Prevalence
Diagnosis
Symptoms
Medication
Management
Causes
Treatment
Health Care

Journals and Periodicals

Psychology Today
Presents scientifically accurate psychological information for the layperson
American Journal of Psychology
AJP explores the science of the mind and behavior, publishing reports of original research in experimental psychology, theoretical presentations, combined theoretical and experimental analyses, historical commentaries, and in-depth reviews of significant books.
American Psychologist
American Psychologist®, established in 1946, is the flagship peer-reviewed scholarly journal of the American Psychological Association. As such, American Psychologist publishes current and timely high-impact papers of broad interest.
Best Practices in Mental Health
Presents scholarship in the field of mental health; priority is to promote the integration of technology, replicate and improve promising practices, and continue to provide diverse and enlightening perspectives.
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology
Among other topics, The Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology® (JCCP) publishes original contributions on the development, validity, and use of techniques of diagnosis and treatment of disordered behavior
Mental Health Weekly Digest
A professional newsletter reporting on the latest research in mental health. Features information and studies in depression, schizophrenia, paranoia, and other mental conditions. Coverage includes drug development, risk factors, and therapies.
Psychological Bulletin
Psychological Bulletin® publishes syntheses of research in scientific psychology.

Inclement Weather Update

Mental Health

Article Databases

Try searching these databases to find articles on mental health topics.

Search Term Tips

The subject terms below can be used to find articles about topics significant to Mental Health and Illnesses.

Try using these suggested keywords along with keywords related to your chosen topic or disorder when using the recommended databases:

Journals and Periodicals