Books are wonderful, in depth sources for many topics. They are usually more academic and comprehensive than background resources and web sites, yet are usually not as challenging to read as scholarly journal articles.
A book doesn't need to be read cover-to-cover to be used for research! Many students use individual chapters or sections of a book.
Search the HACC Catalog for print books located at the campus libraries, and eBooks specifically selected by HACC librarians for HACC students.
Search our eBook databases for the largest results lists on many topics.
eBook collection covering a wide range of subjects.
A comprehensive library covering a broad selection of literary works, their authors and genres.
Find print books and some eBooks here.
Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.
Provides full-text to literature criticism from the series, Critical Insights and Critical Surveys of Long Fiction. Also includes biographies of some important writers.
This groundbreaking collection of thirty-eight biographical and autobiographical texts chronicles the lives of literary black Africans in British colonial America from 1643 to 1760 and offers new strategies for identifying and interpreting the presence of black Africans in this early period.
On the 150th anniversary of his birth, a definitive new biography of a pivotal figure in American literary history A major poet, Paul Laurence Dunbar (1872-1906) was one of the first African American writers to garner international recognition in the wake of emancipation.
The first authoritative biography of August Wilson, the most important and successful American playwright of the late 20th century, by a theater critic who knew him.
Fred Daniels, a black man, is picked up randomly by the police after a brutal murder in a Chicago neighbourhood and taken to the local precinct where he is tortured until he confesses to a crime he didn't commit.
