The Transgender Foundation of America’s (TFA) archive of transgender history and research library is the beating heart of the transgender center located in Houston, Texas. For far too long, transgenders lived without a sense of history as a people. The Houston Transgender Archive addresses this by actively searching out and acquiring transgender history. The TFA research library includes journals, studies, biographies and more, both current and obscure. The library includes both the most current information on transgender issues as well as delicate books that are hundreds of years old.
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
Primary Source Books/Memoirs
These are only a few books we have on this topic. Search the catalog to find more items on this topic.
Nonbinary by Micah Rajunov (Editor); A. Scott Duane (Editor)What happens when your gender doesn't fit neatly into the categories of male or female? Even mundane interactions like filling out a form or using a public bathroom can be a struggle when these designations prove inadequate. In this groundbreaking book, thirty authors highlight how our experiences are shaped by a deeply entrenched gender binary. The powerful first-person narratives of this collection show us a world where gender exists along a spectrum, a web, a multidimensional space.
Trans* by Jack HalberstamIn Trans*, Jack Halberstam explores the recent shifts in the meaning of the gendered body and representation, and explores the possibilities of a nongendered, gender-optional, or gender-queer future.
Publication Date: 2018-01-24
Nonbinary Gender Identities by Charlie McNabbThis timely resource--the first reference on nonbinary gender identities--offers an accessible entry into researching this topic. Written by a nonbinary scholar and librarian, this guide includes valuable appendixes that will aid every researcher and writer: a glossary of the rich vocabulary emerging from nonbinary communities; a guide to pronoun usage; a primer on sex, sexuality, and gender; and Library of Congress Classification information.
Publication Date: 2017-12-08
You're in the Wrong Bathroom! by Laura Erickson-Schroth; Laura A. Jacobs"You?re in the Wrong Bathroom!"- And 20 Other Myths About Transgender and Gender-Nonconforming People unpacks the twenty-one most common myths and misconceptions about transgender and gender-nonconforming people. Authors Laura Erickson-Schroth, MD, a psychiatrist, and Laura A. Jacobs, LCSW-R, a psychotherapist, address a range of fallacies.
A moving documentary on what its like to be transgender, to grow up in the wrong gender and eventually transition to a different sex. A documentary designed to record, share and celebrate the personal stories of transgender women and men and their stories of struggle, of courage and of triumph. Though they vary in age, ethnicity and socioeconomic backgrounds, each person has fought to cast off the gender assigned to them at birth and embrace their true selves. This program covers what its like to grow up in the wrong gender and eventually transition. The decision to transition from one gender to another is a life changing one not just for the transgender person but for their family and friends. Male or female, boy or girl? Most of us can answer that question without a second thought, but for some people, the answer isnt so simple. This documentary takes us firsthand into the lives of seven people who are transgender, revealing their struggles and life changing transitions. It takes a powerful look at this new generation, exploring the medical possibilities, struggles and choices transgender teens, adults and their families face today. Encouraging classroom discussion, this program helps students to think of the differences in each of us in a positive way, breaking stereotypes, acceptance, challenging prejudice and increasing visibility for the transgender community.