LibGuides: Medical Model Room: Getting Started

Welcome

The Medical Model Room is open when the Gettysburg Learning Commons is open.

The room is for HACC students using the models and equipment
Covered drinks only, no food
Use a pointer, not pens or pencils
Cover microscopes when finished
Return model pieces to original box or locations
Do not remove models from this room
The Medical Model room cannot be reserved
Do not leave your items unattended

Websites

Center for Disease Control A-Z Index
The CDC A-Z Index is a navigational and informational tool that makes the CDC.gov Web site easier to use. It helps you quickly find and retrieve specific information. The A-Z index is structured so that synonyms, acronyms, and cross-referencing provide multiple ways for you to access the topics and features on CDC.gov. The index includes common and scientific terms to meet the needs of consumers as well as health professionals.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR ) series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. MMWR readership predominantly consists of physicians, nurses, public health practitioners, epidemiologists and other scientists, researchers, educators, and laboratorians.

Biology & Nursing Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly and peer reviewed articles for nursing and allied health topics.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides students, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines.
Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database offering interactive study of human anatomy through virtual 3D dissections, visual simulations, and reference content.

Note: Users must clear cache/browsing history to access this content. How to refresh your cache
Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health portal for practice, education, research, and administration. Features access to 78 full-text journals from Wolters Kluwer.
Use Chrome, which is our preferred Web browser, if you have issues.

Anatomy Books

Anatomy and Physiology
Call Number: QP34.5 .N67 2017 LAN
Combines anatomical terminology and function so you'll learn not only names and terms but also gain an understanding of how the human body works. Whether you're a student, an aspiring medical, healthcare or fitness professional, or just someone who's curious about the human body and how it works, this book offers you a fun, easy way to get a handle on the basics of anatomy and physiology.
Atlas of Human Anatomy
Call Number: QM25 .N46 2010 LAN
Uses Frank H. Netter, MD's detailed illustrations to demystify this often intimidating subject, providing a coherent, lasting visual vocabulary for understanding anatomy and how it applies to medicine. This 5th Edition features a stronger clinical focus-with new diagnostic imaging examples-making it easier to correlate anatomy with practice. Student Consult online access includes supplementary learning resources, from additional illustrations to an anatomy dissection guide and more.
Structure and Function of the Body
Call Number: QP34.5 .T5 2012 HBG and GBG
Simple and straightforward, Thibodeau and Patton's Structure & Function of the Body, 14th Edition makes the difficult concepts of anatomy and physiology clear and easier to understand. Focusing on the normal structure and function of the human body and what the body does to maintain homeostasis, this introductory text provides more than 400 vibrantly detailed illustrations and a variety of interactive learning tools to help you establish an essential foundation for success in the care of the human body.

Or search "human anatomy" as a subject