Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health, Nutrition, and Physical Fitness

This guide supports classes in the areas of Health, Nutrition, and Physical Education

How to use this guide

woman doing yoga

Some Things to Keep in Mind...

This guide is designed to provide a starting point for researching topics dealing with health, nutrition, and physical fitness.   The resources listed are in both print and online formats.

  • If your professor is asking you to find more scholarly material, place a checkmark next to "scholarly/peer reviewed" when using the articles databases listed below.
  • For more consumer-oriented material, try limiting your search to magazines or newspapers, or explore online reference book collections like the Health Reference Series Online or Salem Health.
  • For more specific material on Nutrition and Physical Education/Physical Fitness, use the links to the left.

Reference Book Collections

Health Reference Library

Provides basic medical information for patients, families, caregivers, and the general public.

Salem Health

Salem Health

Combined searchable encyclopedia sets Magills Medical Guide, 8th ed. and Addictions & Substance Abuse (2018).

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.

Articles Databases

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Full-text consumer health magazines, health pamphlets, and reference books covering medical sciences, food science and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.

EBSCOhost

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides students, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines.

Health & Medicine (ProQuest)

Full-text articles covering health, medicine, substance abuse, and many other health-related topics.

Magazines

Streaming Video Databases

Films On Demand

Films on Demand

Curriculum-focused, streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Biography, National Geographic and others.

Alexander Street Press

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Over 70,000 streaming video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Kanopy

Kanopy

On-demand streaming of classic cinema, indie films, and top documentaries. Films remain available for 72 hours.

HACC Library: Books and Media Catalog Search

The HACC Library: Books and Media catalog is a searchable database of books, periodical titles, and audio-visual material available at Harrisburg Area Community College.

 

Web Sites