Background Information - HUM 201 - World Mythology - Rose - LibGuides at Harrisburg Area Community College

Why Use Reference Books//Background Resources?

The resources on this "Background Information" page are great for finding definitions and overviews of mythological beings and topics. They are great starting points! Then dig a little deeper by looking for books and journal articles using the "Books " and "Journals" links.

Why use these "reference" or "background" resources?

They provide overviews of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
They provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.

Background Resources

Credo Reference

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.

Encyclopedia of Religion
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Has excellent articles on mythological topics and figures.
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology by David Leeming
Publication Date: 2005-11-17
The main body of Leeming's work consists of A-Z entries covering all aspects of mythology, including substantial essays on the world's major mythological traditions (Greek, Native American, Indian, Japanese, Sumerian, Egyptian), mythological types and motifs (Descent to the Underworld, the Hero,the Trickster, Creation, the Quest), mythological figures (Odysseus, Zeus, Osiris, Spider Woman, and Inanna) as well as numerous interrelated subjects such as fairly tales and legends.
Myths and Legends of the Celts by James MacKillop
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Drawing on recent historical and archaeological research, as well as literary and oral sources, the guide looks at the gods and goddesses of Celtic myth; at the nature of Celtic religion, with its rituals of sun and moon worship; and at the druids who served society as judges, diviners and philosophers.

The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by M. C. Howatson
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
It not only presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth andliterature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds.
Dictionary of Classical Mythology by Jennifer R. March
Publication Date: 2014-05-31
It is a comprehensive A - Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters.
Myths and Legends by Mari Griffith
Publication Date: 2006-01-05
Pocket Guides series leads the modern viewer through this important aspect of Western art. This lively and enjoyable guide explores how artists have drawn on mythology since the dawn of the Renaissance.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Has excellent articles on mythological topics and figures.