Skip to Main Content

Copyright & Permissions (non-classroom use)

This guide is provided for information to promote compliance with copyright laws and practices for non-classroom use. It is not intended as legal advice.

Creative Commons

Explore the Creative Commons Home Page

http://creativecommons.org/

Creative Commons banner and link

"Creative Commons is a nonprofit corporation dedicated to making it easier for people to share and build upon the work of others, consistent with the rules of copyright. We provide free licenses and other legal tools to mark creative work with the freedom the creator wants it to carry, so others can share, remix, use commercially, or any combination thereof."

 Creative Commons FAQ

Video and Multimedia

 

Moving Image Archive (Archive.org)
http://archive.org/details/movies
This site allows you to either stream or download film materials from a variety of sources.  Movies you'll find on this site are either covered under Creative Commons licenses or are in the public domain.  Please double check to be sure. 

Prelinger Archives: Free Movies
This collection contains downloadable films that are covered under a Creative Commons 0 license (Public Domain).  You can find, commercials, educational films, industrial films, some stock footage, and amateur films here. 

Images

Creativity103.com
This site provides access to some very interesting CC-licensed background images. 


PhotoEverywhere.co.uk 
This site provides access to Creative Commons-licensed images with a travel theme. 

Wikimedia Commons
Helpful resource which contains Creative Commons licensed and Public Domain images and other media.  One of the most helpful things about Wikimedia Commons is the Open-Source Ticket Request System (OTRS) which tracks the permissions to freely use media sources posted to the site. 

Free Stock Photos

To use these photos in Canva, simply upload them and choose from our library of professionally designed templates to create amazing blog and website graphics completely for free. A growing community of photographers have decided to release their photos for free, or the price of attribution.

Sound Recordings

 

Audionautix

An individual artist, Jason Shaw, has released tracks on this site under a CC 3.0 license (attribution only). 

ccMixter.com

Tracks contained within this site are covered by CC licenses. Search function may not be the greatest, but they do have a large library of music to browse.

Community Audio

This is one of several music/audio projects hosted by the Internet Archive. Material can be downloaded under different Creative Commons licenses. Please be sure to double check what the license allows.

Free Sound Project

Need some sound effects? You may be able to download and use some from this site. Please be sure to carefully read the CC license accompanying each file to see what uses are permitted.

Internet Archive Live Music Archive

A fairly long list of artists and bands are making live recordings of their music available for download on this site. The tracks are covered by a "trade friendly" which essentially means that they may only be used for non-commercial purposes. Please be sure to check the "Trade Friendly" page by EtreeWiki for further information.

Opsound

This site allows anyone to contribute sound files under a Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike license.