Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology

Why Use Background Databases?

Our background databases mostly contain content from subject specialized encyclopedias and other reference books. They can be especially helpful because:

  • They provide overviews of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
  • They provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
  • They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
  • They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of sociology

This classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.

The Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology

Publisher's description: This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.

Sociology Dictionaries

The resources below are great for definitions and overviews:

Background Information on Social Issues

This database specializes in overviews of social issues from various viewpoints. It can also point you in the direction of additional resources:

Background Resources

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.

Gale Ebooks

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.