Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fall 2021 Updates
Learning Commons spaces are open to students enrolled in fall and spring classes. ALL students & staff on campus are required to wear a mask.
For more information, please see the Fall 2021 Updates page.
Why Use Reference Books?
They provide overvie ws of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
T hey provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.
Online reference sources
Health Reference Library
Provides basic medical information for patients, families, caregivers, and the general public.
Free resource - not a library database. Professional, Consumer, Veterinary.
Combined searchable encyclopedia sets
Magills Medical Guide, 8th ed. and Addictions & Substance Abuse (2018).
Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and topical content covering a variety of subject areas.
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.
Oxford Reference Online
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.
eBook Nursing Collection
eBook collection that focuses on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
Made Incredibly Easy - Health Library
Thirty foundational textbooks and supplemental material for nursing and health career students.
HACC Library: Books and Media Catalog Search
The HACC Library: Books and Media catalog is a searchable database of books, periodical titles, and audio-visual material available at Harrisburg Area Community College.
Catalog search tips
If you know exactly the resource you need, you can search by title or author for that book or other material.
If you searching for a book on a specific topic, start a search using words/phrases describing your topic.
Make sure you spell correctly, the catalog is very strict about spelling.
You can limit results by location and publication date.
Once you found a book you want, look at the Subject headings listed in the description, if you need more resources on your topic, use these terms to do a new search.