It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fall 2021 Updates
Learning Commons spaces are open to students enrolled in fall and spring classes. ALL students & staff on campus are required to wear a mask. For more information, please see thepage.
The HACC Library: Books and Media catalog is a searchable database of books, periodical titles, and audio-visual material available at Harrisburg Area Community College.
To access an e-book, click on the title, then the link next to Electronic Access. You might need to enter your HACC ID and password.
Business Law and Ethics by Salem Press EditorsThis volume offers an expansive overview of information systems and technology. The essay collection is broken up into several sections that discuss the underpinnings of technology, illustrate the importance of information systems in decision making, and detail information system development and auditing processes.
Call Number: KF889 .E358 2014eb
Publication Date: 2014
Cyberspace Law by Hannibal TravisThe book brings together established experts to critically analyse recent developments and case law in online commerce and communications law and policy. The book offers an accessible and informative guide covering several domains of internet law, including: patenting methods of doing business over the internet; efforts by intellectual property owners to compel internet firms to monitor their online offerings; and the ability of the law to require or prohibit internet companies from create a specific version of the internet.
Publication Date: 2013
NAB Legal Guide to Broadcast Law and Regulation. by Jean Benz, Jane E. Mago, and Jerianne TimmermanTo guide the industry in the 21st century, counsel for the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) and leading attorneys have prepared the only up-to-date, comprehensive broadcast regulatory publication: NAB's Legal Guide to Broadcast Law and Regulation. Known for years as the'voice'for broadcast law, this publication addresses the full range of FCC regulatory issues facing radio and television broadcasters, as well as intellectual property, First Amendment, cable and satellite, and increasingly important online issues.
Publication Date: 2015
Paralegal Career for Dummies by Lisa Zimmer Hatch; Scott A. HatchYour career as a top-notch paralegal starts here The demand for paralegal professionals is exploding, and Paralegal Career For Dummies, 2nd Edition explains the skills and requirements needed to pursue this rewarding career. Inside, you'll discover the ins and outs of paralegal skills, from preparing documents and performing legal research to obtaining certification, job hunting, and understanding legal concepts. Use this hands-on guide to help in your career considerations, bolster your paralegal training, or as an everyday on-the-job reference. Paralegal Career For Dummies will be your trusty assistant through all phases of your life as a paralegal, taking you forward with tips on networking and joining professional organizations that will enhance your career. Discover the job skills required for success as a paralegal Learn important legal concepts you'll need on the job Access forms, templates, and examples on the companion website Develop strategies to manage time and advance your career Complete with a companion website containing a wealth of valuable information, this book covers everything you need to become a top-notch paralegal.
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Patent It Yourself by David Pressman; Thomas J. Tuytschaevers (Revised by)Attorney David Pressman and updater Thomas Tuytschaevers takes you through the entire patent process, providing scrupulously updated information and clear instructions to help you: determine if you can patent your invention understand patent law evaluate the commercial potential of your idea perform your own patent search file a provisional patent application prepare a formal patent application respond to patent examiners amend an application enforce and maintain your patent market and license your invention Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest changes in intellectual property law, this edition provides the latest U.S. Patent and Trademark Office rules and forms. It includes up-to-date discussions of the new "first to file" rule, which has to revolutionized patent law.
Publication Date: 2014
The Women's Small Business Start-Up Kit by Peri PakrooThe Women's Small Business Start Up Kit, written by the author of the bestselling The Small Business Start Up Kit, gives you the practical and legal information you need to kickstart a successful enterprise--whether you're an arty creative type, an independent consultant or a Fortune 500 seeker. In addition to a breakdown of the common issues and concerns facing women entrepreneurs of every strip, you'll find information and guidance on: choosing and developing the right business to live the life you want drafting an effective business plan programs that give government contracting preferences to women owned businesses understanding and choosing a legal structure clearing the bureaucratic start up hurdles taking your business online and developing an eBusiness financial management and tax basics for small businesses balancing work, children, and family relationships hiring and managing employees The Women's Small Business Start Up Kit retains its focus on women's business related issues without devolving into stereotypes and never loses sight of the legal rules and fundamentals of starting and running your business. All forms are now downladable at nolo.com.
Publication Date: 2014
Women and Sexual Harassment by Robert C. Berring; Anja A. ChanHere is a valuable guide that saves researchers investigating sexual harassment in the workplace enormous amounts of time and money. Focusing on the hostile environment claim under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Women and Sexual Harassment is a complete resource tool. In one easy-to-use volume, it provides a detailed background and history of the hostile environment claim as well as an extensive guide on how to use and where to find the best resources available on this topic. Unlike some legal books, Chan's book does not require cover-to-cover reading to access pertinent information. Anyone, whether they are interested in the specifics of the hostile environment claim or sexual harassment in general, will be able to locate the information they're looking for with the help of this handy guide. It saves enormous amounts of time, effort, and money for researchers by providing extensive listings and evaluations of statutes, cases, agency decisions, law review articles, annotations, and books containing information on this subject. Readers can use the book to get a better understanding of the hostile environment claim or use it like a dictionary to pinpoint the specific resources that will be most useful to their area of research. Women and Sexual Harassment is logically divided into five complete parts to make it easy to use: Part 1: Clearly explains how to best use the book to access specific information. Part 2: Describes the history and present state of the hostile environment claim in a manner that is to the point, yet is more thorough than descriptions of the claim found in articles, cases, or other sources. Part 3: Research guide--Directs researchers to the best sources for information, categorized by type and area. Includes tips that will save hours in the library and will help researchers find the most up-to-the-minute articles and cases. Part 4: Bibliography of primary legal sources--Covers statutes, regulations, and case law on the hostile environment claim and sexual harassment. Part 5: Bibliography of secondary sources--Includes books, articles, surveys, and legislative history.The annotated bibliography, broken down by type of source and type of information, not only points researchers in the right direction but also steers them away from sources that seem valuable from their title, but are in fact not worthwhile. The insightful written analysis of the hostile environment claim alone provides researchers unfamiliar with the subject with a clearly written history and definition of the claim, its key elements, employer liability, statute of limitations, remedies, considerations of discovery and evidence, and related claims. Women and Sexual Harassment is an invaluable guide for all types of researchers including victims of sexual harassment considering filing a hostile environment claim, scholars interested in women's issues, attorneys unfamiliar with this area, employers interested in limiting their liability by taking steps to prevent sexual harassment in their workplaces, and law students in any level of courses related to sex discrimination or sexual harassment.
Publication Date: 2014
Your Living Trust and Estate Plan by Harvey J. PlattThis revised fifth edition from estate-planning expert Harvey J. Platt details the most up-to-date strategies for using a living trust to create a flexible estate plan. Platt explains the latest tax laws, including the American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012, the broadening of statutes for amending trusts, and the rule against perpetuities (RAP). Platt also addresses updates on many existing topics, including lifetime exemptions; the estate, gift, and generation-skipping tax; charitable deductions; state estate tax savings; and private annuities. Your Living Trust & Estate Plan maps out the most effective techniques for saving money and property and covers the essentials of successful estate planning.