Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOCI 201 - Introduction to Sociology - Hall

Recommended Databases

The following library databases are excellent resources for finding journal articles containing reports of sociological research studies (original research). Remember to look out for the terminology and features typically found in these reports: Method; Sample; Charts & Graphs; Results; Discussion; and References.

Recommended Databases for Sociology Topics

SocINDEX with Full Text

Articles from scholarly journals and magazines, book chapters, and conference proceedings. Covers sociology and closely related areas of social work, human services, criminal justice, and cultural studies.

Social Sciences (ProQuest)

Full text articles from periodicals on the social sciences: anthropology, criminology, cultural studies, human services, sociology, political science, public welfare, etc. Includes indexing and abstracts for all journals, including those not available in full text.

Academic Search Complete

Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.

Sage Journals Online

Full text articles from scholarly journals in business, humanities, and social sciences.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archive Collection

Full text articles from approximately 640 journals within the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. JSTOR serves as a journal back file and does not contain the most recent years of the subscribed journals.

Religion & Philosophy Collection

Articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering all aspects of religion and philosophy worldwide.

Basic Database Searching (HACC Video)

Advanced Database Searching (HACC Video)