Articles - SOCI 201 - Introduction to Sociology - Flavin - LibGuides at Harrisburg Area Community College

Refining Your Search

When you perform a database search, often you will be given a lot of results -more than you could ever go through. When this happens, it's important to tell the database exactly what kind of resources your looking for by applying filters.

Filters (sometimes called limiters) help take away search results you don't want. You can filter by type and date.

Type - Each of these filters helps to make sure that the kinds of results your search gives you are appropriate for research.

Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals - Limits results to only articles that have been reviewed by other experts (so we know we can trust it too).
Academic Journals - Limits results to only articles presenting research and findings.
Full Text - Limits results to only articles you can access right now. However, remember that the library can bring in journals we don't currently have from other libraries.

Date - These filters limit your results according to when they were published.

Limit results to the last 5 years - This ensures that you only see the most recent articles on your topic. You may continue to subtract years if your results are still too large.

Database Searching Tutorial

Sociology

Best Bets

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology, social work, human services, criminal justice, anthropology, and cultural studies. Peer-reviewed journals, magazines, book chapters and conference proceedings.
Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in anthropology, criminology, cultural studies, human services, sociology, political science and public welfare.

Additional Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and book chapters, in topics of communication, mass media and related fields of cultural studies, film studies, marketing and business.
Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Informs the research process for students in law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court and writing sociological reports.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on all aspects of psychology, psychiatry, and other related social sciences.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals in business, engineering, medicine, humanities, and social sciences.

Sociology Subject Guide

Another good resource is our Sociology Subject Guide. This guide covers a wide variety of resources including reference resources, journal titles, statistic resources, and career information.