| Consider the... | Scholarly Publications are... | Trade Publications are... | Popular Publications are... |
|---|---|---|---|
| Length of Articles |
Lengthy, often more than 10 pages, and include areas such as abstracts, methods, results, and discussions. |
Short, fewer than 10 pages, and often lacking structural subsections. | Short, fewer than 10 pages, and lack structural subsections. |
| Audience | Written for academics or professionals with advanced language. | Written for people in specific trades, industries, or professions, as well as interested non-specialists. | Written for the general public in non-specialized language. |
| Authority & Expertise | Written by academics, specialists, or researchers in the field. | Written by industry professionals, sometimes journalists with subject expertise; author credentials are usually provided. | Written by journalists or professional writers. |
| Bibliography | Well researched and includes information about their sources in an area called References, Works Cited, or Footnotes so a reader can consult the material that the author used. | References may be provided in a brief bibliography, but are not required. | Sometimes researched, but sources are seldom included with the article. A good editor will check the writer's sources. |
| Frequency | Published monthly, quarterly, or yearly. | Published weekly or monthly. | Published daily, weekly, or monthly. |
| Inclusions | Not decorated with images and only have specialized advertising if any is included. They will also include reviews of the literature, charts, data, and tables along with descriptions of how their research was conducted. | Articles may include decorative photographs and graphic layouts similar to popular publications. They may include advertisements for products, but they will typically be relevant to that field or industry. | Print versions may be full of decorative photographs, illustrations, and text. They also include a lot of product advertisements. |
| Subjects | Confined to a single, specific aspect of a subject area such as music theory, European political science, film studies, language development, or stem cell research. | Confined to a particular field or industry with the intent to provide practical information about current news, trends, and products. | Often inclusive of many subjects, such as in Time, People, and Newsweek, or focused on a single subject with the intention of entertaining such as in Wired or Sports Illustrated. |
| Vocabulary | Written with technical or specialized vocabulary unique to a subject area. | Written with specialized terminology or jargon of the field, but not as technical as a scholarly publication. | Written in conventional or conversational language, appropriate for most readers |
| Publication Process | Sent to experts in the subject who review the article to evaluate credibility and accuracy before being published. This process is known as "peer-review". | Articles are evaluated by editorial staff who may be subject experts, but articles are not peer-reviewed. | Sent to an editor who may know nothing of the topic. The editor might use a fact-checker, who also may not be familiar with the topic, to verify some information. |
An award-winning how-to journal created to provide practical, hands-on information to nurses.
Based on Lippincott Williams & Wilkins's popular and successful Incredibly Easy! book series for nurses.
The official journal of the American Nurses Association (ANA). We have full access to its contents.
Full-text scholarly and peer reviewed articles for nursing and allied health topics.
Full-text articles covering health, medicine, substance abuse, and many other health-related topics.
Provides students, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines.
Combined searchable encyclopedia sets Magills Medical Guide, 8th ed. and Addictions & Substance Abuse (2018).
Comprehensive nursing and allied health portal for practice, education, research, and administration. Features access to 78 full-text journals from Wolters Kluwer.
Peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals in business, engineering, medicine, humanities, and social sciences.
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Uses Medical Subject Headings or MeSH.
