Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature

Book Collections

interface screenshot

eBooks on EBSCOhost

eBook collection covering a wide range of subjects.

Bloom's Literary Criticism eBook Collection

A comprehensive library covering a broad selection of literary works, their authors and genres.

HACC Book & Media Catalog

Find print books and some eBooks here.

interface screenshot

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.

interface screenshot

Salem Literature

Provides full-text to literature criticism from the series, Critical Insights and Critical Surveys of Long Fiction. Also includes biographies of some important writers.

Books about Literary Theory

Comprehensive list of modernism ebooks in eBooks on EBSCOHost:

For additional theories, try searching eBooks on EBSCOHost:

When searching in eBooks on EBSCOHost, try searching for the theories below, either by themselves, or in combination with the term "literary theory.":

  • Psychoanalysis and literature
  • Formalism Literary Analysis
  • New Historicism
  • Feminism and literature (or) feminist literary criticism
  • Reader-Response Criticism
  • Modernism Literature
  • Postmodernism Literature
  • Queer literary analysis
  • Marxist literary analysis
  • New Critical literary analysis
  • Post-Colonial literary analysis
  • Deconstructive Literary analysis

Call Numbers for Browsing in Print Collections

Within the Library of Congress (LC) Classification (or "Call Number") system, Most of the "P's" are literature titles. If you are interested in a detailed breakdown of how the print literature books are organized on the shelves, the LC CLassification for Literature PDF file will provide the details.

Some of our newer literature titles...

Making Darkness Light: a life of John Milton

An innovative and elegant new biography of John Milton from an acclaimed Oxford professor.

The Tale of Princess Fatima, Warrior Woman: the Arabic epic of Dhat al-Himma

Published in English for the first time, and the only Arabic epic named for a woman, The Tale of Princess Fatima recounts the thrilling adventures of a legendary medieval warrior universally known throughout the Middle East and long overdue to join world literature's pantheon of female heroes.

The Man Who Lived Underground: a Novel

Fred Daniels, a black man, is picked up randomly by the police after a brutal murder in a Chicago neighbourhood and taken to the local precinct where he is tortured until he confesses to a crime he didn't commit.

Critical Insights: the Lord of the Rings

This volume about the novel discusses the work from numerous points of view, employing biographical, historical, cultural, mythic, and aesthetic approaches, among others.

The Writer's Crusade: Kurt Vonnegut and the Many Lives of Slaughterhouse-Five

In The Writer's Crusade, author Tom Roston examines the connection between Vonnegut's life and Slaughterhouse-Five. Roston probes Vonnegut's work, his personal history, and discarded drafts of the novel, as well as original interviews with the writer's family, friends, scholars, psychologists, and other novelists including Karl Marlantes, Kevin Powers, and Tim O'Brien.

The Penguin Book of the Modern American Short Story

This anthology culls together a half century of powerful American short stories from all genres, including for the first time in a literary anthology science fiction, horror, and fantasy.

100 Poems to Break Your Heart

In 100 Poems to Break Your Heart, poet and advocate Edward Hirsch selects 100 poems, and illuminates them, unpacking context and references to help the reader fully experience the range of emotion and wisdom within these poems.

These Fevered Days: ten pivotal moments in the making of Emily Dickinson

In These Fevered Days, Martha Ackmann unravels the mysteries of Dickinson's life through ten decisive episodes that distill her evolution as a poet.

Langston Hughes (Critical Lives series)

In this new biography, W. Jason Miller illuminates Hughes's status as an international literary figure through a compelling look at the relationship between his extraordinary life and his canonical works. Drawing on unpublished letters and manuscripts, Miller addresses Hughes's often ignored contributions to the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s, as well as his complex and well-guarded sexuality, and repositions him as a writer rather than merely the most beloved African American poet of the twentieth century.

Red Comet: the Short Life and Blazing Art of Sylvia Plath

The highly anticipated new biography of Sylvia Plath that focuses on her remarkable literary and intellectual achievements, while restoring the woman behind the long-held myths about her life and art.

The Man of the Crowd: Edgar Allan Poe and the City

Scott Peeples chronicles Poe's rootless life in the cities, neighborhoods, and rooms where he lived and worked, exploring how each new place left its enduring mark on the writer and his craft.

Understanding Alice Walker

Thadious M. Davis begins with Walker's biography and her formative experiences in the South and then presents ways of accessing and reading Walker's complex, interconnected, and sociopolitically invested career in writing fiction, poetry, critical essays, and meditations.