Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature

This guide supports all literature courses taught at HACC (English 201 through English 279).Examples of courses include but are not limited to:: Introduction to Literature; Major American Writers; Major English Writers; World Literature.

How to Use This Guide

  • Literature research assignments will often require you to use "secondary sources," which provide literary criticism, interpretation, and historical context for your topic.

  • Examples of secondary sources are journal articles and books.

  • After finding a "starter" source or two from the resources listed below, try the "Books" and "Databases" links to the left to find journal articles, books, and other types of sources

Background Information

The background databases and reference series' linked below are great for finding your first source! Then dig a little deeper by looking for books and journal articles using the "Books" and "Databases" links to the left.

Background Resources

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.

Gale Ebooks

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.

Literature-focused Reference Series'

Short Stories for Students

Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.

Poetry for Students

Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.

Novels for Students

Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.

Drama for Students

Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.

Reading and Writing about Literature

MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature

What makes a good research topic in a literature class? What does your professor mean by "peer-reviewed" sources? What should you do if you can't find enough material?

How to Read Literature

How to Read Literature is the book of choice for students new to the study of literature and for all other readers interested in deepening their understanding and enriching their reading experience.

How to Read a Poem

In an unprecedented exploration of the genre, Hirsch writes about what poetry is, why it matters, and how we can open up our imaginations so that its message-which is of vital importance in day-to-day life-can reach us and make a difference.

A Short Guide to Writing about Literature

A Short Guide to Writing about Literature emphasizes writing as a process and incorporates new critical approaches to writing about literature.

Faculty Librarian

Profile Photo
Lisa Weigard
she/her/hers
Contact:
Working Remotely
ejweigar@hacc.edu
717-371-6181 (cell)
Contact: Facebook Page

Contact a Librarian

Chat

Available for quick help 24 hours a day, 365 days a year!

meet

Schedule time with a librarian for in-depth research help.

email

Get a response within 48 hours

text

Text us at 717-722-0009