Databases - SOCI 201 - Introduction to Sociology - Jacobson - LibGuides at Harrisburg Area Community College

Sociology Databases

The following library databases are excellent resources for finding journal articles containing reports of sociological research studies (original research). Remember to look out for the terminology and features typically found in these reports: Method; Sample; Charts & Graphs; Results; Discussion; and References. You can also find magazine articles in Academic Search Premier and the Social Sciences (Proquest).

Not finding what you need?

If your topic might also be covered in another subject-specialized database, here are some other ideas for places to go:

Databases by Subject

Diversity in Scholarly Research

Despite the intent to be unbiased, most scholarly, peer-reviewed publications are not perfect. The people who make publishing decisions are mainly white, cis-gender straight people without disabilities. This means that even works focused on diverse populations are not often written by those who identify as part of the diverse group on which they write. Furthermore, the systems developed to organiz e information and algorithms used to search for information assume that being straight, white, and male is the default.

Academic medicine’s glass ceiling: Author’s gender in top three medical research journals impacts probability of future publication success In December 2017, Lancet called for gender inequality investigations. Holding other factors constant, trends over time for significant author (i.e., first, second, last or any of these authors) publications were examined for the three highest-impact medical research journals (i.e., New England Journal of Medicine [NEJM], Journal of the American Medical Association [JAMA], and Lancet).
Four group leaders with disabilities share their thoughts on how to make laboratories and fieldwork more accessible and inclusive. Abstract:To understand the experiences of the disabled in academia, a fully accessible and inclusive workshop conference was held in March 2018. Grounded in critical disability studies within a constructivist inquiry analytical approach, this article provides a contextualisation of ableism in academia garnered through creative data generation. The nuanced experiences of disabled academics in higher education as well as their collective understandings of these experiences as constructed through normalisation and able-bodiedness are presented. We show that disabled academics are marginalised and othered in academic institutions; that the neoliberalisation of higher education has created productivity expectations, which contribute to the silencing of the disabled academics’ perspectives and experiences due to constructions of normality and stigmatisation; and that it is important to enact policies, procedures, and practices that value disabled academics and bring about cultural and institutional changes in favour of equality and inclusion.
- This link opens in a new window
Gender equality in academic publishing: action from the BJPsych Abstract: Women in academic publishing and academic psychiatry face many challenges of gender inequality, including significant pay differentials, poor visibility in senior positions and a male-dominated hierarchical system. We discuss this problem and outline how the BJPsych plans to tackle these issues it in its own publishing.
How the Geographic Diversity of Editorial Boards Affects What Is Published in JCR-Ranked Communication Journals. Abstract: This article tests whether the geographic diversity of editorial boards affects the diversity of research papers. Based on a content analysis of 84 journals listed in the Journal Citation Report, we show that diverse editorial boards are more likely to publish more diverse research articles, based on the country of origin of the first author and on where the data were collected. Our findings also indicate a negative association between (a) the impact factor and diversity of the research approach, (b) the journal's affiliation to an academic association and diversity in the first author's country of origin and the country of data collection, and (c) the founding year of the publication and the country of data collection. Finally, the founding year of the publication is explored as a moderator.
Racial Inequality in Psychological Research: Trends of the Past and Recommendations for the Future Abstract: Race plays an important role in how people think, develop, and behave. In the current article, we queried more than 26,000 empirical articles published between 1974 and 2018 in top-tier cognitive, developmental, and social psychology journals to document how often psychological research acknowledges this reality and to examine whether people who edit, write, and participate in the research are systematically connected. We note several findings. First, across the past five decades, psychological publications that highlight race have been rare, and although they have increased in developmental and social psychology, they have remained virtually nonexistent in cognitive psychology. Second, most publications have been edited by White editors, under which there have been significantly fewer publications that highlight race. Third, many of the publications that highlight race have been written by White authors who employed significantly fewer participants of color. In many cases, we document variation as a function of area and decade. We argue that systemic inequality exists within psychological research and that systemic changes are needed to ensure that psychological research benefits from diversity in editing, writing, and participation. To this end, and in the spirit of the field’s recent emphasis on metascience, we offer recommendations for journals and authors.
- This link opens in a new window

SOCI 201 - Introduction to Sociology - Jacobson

Sociology Databases

Recommended Databases for Sociology Topics

SocINDEX with Full Text

Social Sciences (ProQuest)

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Sage Journals Online

Academic Search Complete

Not finding what you need?

Databases by Subject

Health

Humanities

Science

Social Sciences

All

Diversity in Scholarly Research