LibGuides: World Religion: Background Information

Why Use Background Databases?

Our background databases mostly contain content from subject specialized encyclopedias and other reference books. They can be especially helpful because:

They provide overviews of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
They provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.

Featured Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Religion (Macmillan)
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of World Religions (Facts on File)
Six volume set: Buddhism; Catholicism; Hinduism; Islam; Judaism; Protestantism
Greenhaven Encyclopedia of World Religions
Provides numerous entries covering world religions including gods and other holy figures, concepts, historical figures, places, rites, and festivals.
Religous Holidays & Calendars (Omnigraphics)
A comprehensive, authoritative source of information about the calendars and holidays of the world's religions. It also provides concise information about the beliefs, practices, and history of major religions.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.

Online Reference Books (specific religions)

book cover Encyclopedia of Buddhism

Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism

book cover New Catholic Encyclopedia

Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology

book cover Oxford Dictionary of Hinduism

book cover Encyclopedia of Islam and the Modern World

Oxford Dictionary of Islam

The Ashgate Research Companion to Islamic Law by Rudolph Peters (Editor); Peri Bearman
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
This unparalleled Companion provides a comprehensive and authoritative guide to Islamic law to all with an interest in this increasingly relevant and developing field.

book cover Encyclopedia Judaica

New Encyclopedia of Judaism

Reference Book Databases

Credo Reference

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks covering a variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.