This brief YouTube video explains why it's important to consider using library databases in your research rather than just doing a Google search.
Databases like CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints are useful when performing research on timely or controversial topics; CQ Researcher's reports include a pro/con examination of the topic, and Opposing Viewpoints includes many articles taking one side or another on various issues.
Databases like Credo, Gale eBooks, and Oxford Reference Online offer encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works to help you get started with background information on your topic.
Full-text periodicals on issues from 1923 through current. All articles include an introduction to the topic, a lengthy overview, background information, the current situation, the outlook, and a pro/con section.
Topic overviews, contrasting viewpoints, articles, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and recommended websites covering specific issues.
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.
These databases include full-text articles in magazines, newspapers, trade journals, and scholarly publications in a variety of subject areas.
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and reports covering every subject area.
MasterFILE Premier provides full-text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. Also includes reference books, biographies, and images.
Newspapers offer current, local information about topics. You can limit searches by location, word count, and reading level.
Over 1,000 news sources including Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and LA Times.
Articles from Pennsylvania and national newspapers.
Full-text coverage for more than 40 newspapers and select text for 389 regional US newspapers.
