This brief YouTube video explains why it's important to consider using library databases in your research rather than just doing a Google search.
These databases are useful when performing research on timely or controversial topics. Many will show both sides (pro/con) of an issue.
This link opens in a new windowFull-text periodicals on issues from 1923 through current. All articles include an introduction to the topic, a lengthy overview, background information, the current situation, the outlook, and a pro/con section.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.
This link opens in a new windowTopic overviews, contrasting viewpoints, articles, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and recommended websites covering specific issues.
These databases include full-text articles in magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.
This link opens in a new windowMasterFILE Premier provides full-text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. Also includes reference books, biographies, and images.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly journals, magazines and reports covering every subject area.
Newspapers offer current, local information about topics. You can limit by location, word count, and reading level.
This link opens in a new windowOver 1,000 news sources including Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and LA Times.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from Pennsylvania and national newspapers.
This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage for more than 40 newspapers and select text for 389 regional US newspapers.
Use Encyclopedias and Dictionaries to get started with background information on your topic.
This link opens in a new windowCollection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and topical content covering a variety of subject areas.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.
This link opens in a new windowArticles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.
Find databases, grouped by subject areas, under Databases By Subject. Your topic will determine which subject database you choose.
If you know the name of the database, find it under Databases A-Z.
