LibGuides: Psychology: Getting Started

Welcome

The resources on this "Getting Started" page are great for finding definitions and overviews of psychological topics. They are great starting points! Then dig a little deeper by looking for books and journal articles using the "Books" and "Journals" links.

Why use these "reference" or "background" resources?

They provide overviews of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
They provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.

Background Information

Credo Reference (Psychology Collection)
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other psychology reference sources.
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

Overviews of Mental Disorders

The DSM-V is a great place to start your research, because it provides overviews of mental disorders.

DSM 5 Online This link opens in a new window
Complete Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition.

How to Cite the DSM-5 in APA Format

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®) by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Carolyn Kernberger
Publication Date: Fifth Edition, 2022 revision

Sigmund Freud

Credit: The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Print Collection, The New York Public Library. Sigmund Freud. Retrieved from http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47df-bf4f-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99