Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shakespeare

Why Use Background Databases?

Our background databases mostly contain content from subject specialized encyclopedias and other reference books. They can be especially helpful because:

  • They provide overviews of topics so you can familiarize yourself before attempting more in-depth research.
  • They provide definitions and quick facts related to a topic.
  • They identify keywords that you can use as possible search terms in the HACC Catalog and databases.
  • They recommend additional reputable resources that are related to your topic.

Shakespeare Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks

The databases linked below contain Shakespeare focused reference works such as: Dictionary of Shakespeare; Oxford Companion to Shakespeare; Shakespeare’s Theatre: A Dictionary of his Stage Context; Oxford A to Z Guide to Shakespeare.

Recommended Background Databases

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference sources from all subject areas. Includes quotations, maps, and illustrations.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources from all subject areas. Includes images, audio pronunciation files, maps, and data tables.