Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shakespeare

Books/eBooks are great academic sources!

Books are especially good sources for literature topics, including Shakespeare. They are more comprehensive than background sources, yet aren't usually as challenging to read as scholarly journal articles:

  • Bloom's Literary Criticism eBook Collection includes the Shakespeare Through the Ages series, as well as the Modern Critical Interpretations and Bloom's Major Literary Characters series'. 
  • Gale eBooks includes  Shakespeare for Students; Drama for Students; and the highly regarded Twayne’s English Authors series (The Romances; The Comedies; The Tragedies; Sonnets and Poems; The History Plays; The Problem Plays). 
  • eBooks on EBSCOHost is a collection of scholarly books on many topics, including Shakespeare.
  • Salem Literature will work if you are researching either King Lear or Othello.

Recommended eBook Collections

Bloom's Literary Criticism eBook Collection

A comprehensive library covering a broad selection of literary works, their authors and genres.

Gale Ebooks

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and topical content covering a variety of subject areas.

EBSCOhost eBooks

eBooks on EBSCOhost

eBook collection covering a wide range of subjects. eBooks User Guide & Recommended Browser Settings

 

Salem Literature

Salem Literature

Collection of literary criticism of King Lear and Othello specifically.

Search the HACC Catalog for Print Titles

The HACC Library also has a large collection of Shakespeare related print books. If you are able and willing to get to a physical campus, then you can request and pick up books that interest you.

To search for print books in the catalog below, use the dropdown menu on the left of your search screen to switch "everything" to "book collection."

HACC Catalog