Skip to main content

Troubleshooting Guide for HACC Library Users

This guide has tips for troubleshooting common problems and contact information for problems that cannot be solved so easily.

User Access

Note: Remote access to the HACC Library's licensed online resources is available to current HACC students, faculty & staff. In order to use these resources you must be "authenticated" (recognized as a valid user) by the HACC campus network.  Your login/password is your HACC username and password.  HACC's Central Authentication page.

If I am already logged into my.HACC, why is a database requiring a login?

This happens when your VPN is acting up. Disconnect from your “Always on VPN” and reconnect and clear your cache, then try again.

VPN

 

 

 

 

Commonly Reported Database Access Issues

Access denied or asked for another login/password - The HACC Library may not subscribe to the content that a user wishes to use. In many cases, we do not subscribe to all of the publications that a publisher offers on a site or to all of the years or issues of a particular journal on that site.  

Blank Screen - Generally, when you access a website, the information sent with the request includes both cookies and the desired URL. Sometimes, when a lot of cookies accumulate or the URL is very long, the request fails. In this case, try another browser or delete cookies.

400 error: Bad Request - This error usually indicates that either the URL is malformed and the receiving server (remote computer) cannot interpret it or the URL and cookies are too long and the server cannot interpret them.  Check to make sure the URL is correct.  Also consider deleting browser cookies

EZProxy Administrator Error Message - In this case, the resource has not yet been setup to work with EZProxy. Please Report the Problem.

All sessions are in use - A small number of library resources have a limited number of simultaneous users and the maximum number of users may be logged in.  Try again in a few minutes.

Some Possible Solutions

If you are experiencing trouble accessing one of our databases, there are several possible solutions.

  • Use a private or incognito browser:
  • Clear browser's cache and cookies
  • Enable JavaScript on your browser:
    • Chrome
    • Safari
    • Firefox does not allow you to adjust JavaScript settings. 
  • Disable your computer's firewall when using a database. Remember to turn the firewall back on after you are done.
  • Use a different browser (e.g. Chrome, Safari, Firefox).
  • The Microsoft Edge browser does not work with many websites and its icon looks very similar to the Internet Explorer icon. If you are using the Edge browser, changing browsers may fix the issue.

If none of these solutions work, please report the problem to the Library. When filling out the form, list the name of the database, the name of the article (if applicable), and a description of the error. We will contact you when the issue has been resolved.

Link Does Not Lead to Correct Article

In some cases, an article link may lead you to the incorrect article.

If the Sidebar Helper Menu is present, you can use it to help navigate to full-text.

Click on the Find It icon on the right to open the sidebar menu.

Then, use the pull down menu under More Full Text Options to switch access points.

OR 

Go to our library homepage at https://www.hacc.edu/Students/Library/index.cfm​ and click on "Journals."

 

Then, search the title of the journal and select the database that contains the correct date range for the requested article.

Once you have selected a database, you can navigate the journal's issues to locate the correct article.

If neither of these solutions work, please report the problem to the Library. When filling out the form, list the name of the database, the name of the article (if applicable), and a description of the error. We will contact you when the issue has been resolved.

Emailing Full-text Articles

When emailing articles to yourself from HACC Library databases, you must open the article (pdf) before selecting email icon on the right.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also emailing articles is not working in older versions of Chrome. So either update your Chrome browser or try using Firefox.

Human Anatomy App Issues

iPad Instructions:

Double click the Home button to bring up the fast appswitcher. Navigate to the app screen you want to quit. Swipe up on the app card you wish to shut down by flicking it up and off the screen. Also make sure there are no old app windows open.

  • Try selecting College, search for HACC.
  • Close the app and open again.
  • It then allows the download of the interactive videos.

Have a Research Question? Ask the HACC Library:

Having issues? First check for browser problems.

Always Clear Your Cache First

Database problems on a MAC?

Human Anatomy on iPads

Gale Human Anatomy logo

The Gale Human Anatomy app works on an iPad as long as location is on in the privacy settings.

  • Enter HACC under “Find your Institution”
  • Select “HACC Library – Ask Us!” (at Name select the blue HACC Library link)
  • After getting the Auth successful screen, press twice on the red Gale Interactive logo at the top to get the category list.

Using a browser on an iPad is not recommended because the 3D content does not function in mobile web browsers.